Running MediaPortal on a diskless computer is possible (1 Viewer)

sn34ky

Portal Member
June 30, 2009
Home Country
Netherlands Netherlands
Hi all,

I'm new to MediaPortal, coming from windows media center.
During experimenting i found out that's it's possible to run MediaPortal on computers without a harddisk or any kind of local storage.

I'm now sharing this knowledge because over the internet lots of people are interested in running computers without harddisks due to power savings and less noise from the client pc (mediaportal client).

I've used the program CCBoot on the pc where my tv server is running and my 2 diskless clients boot from the tv server over the lan.
And it works without any stuttering, even while playing x264 over the same lan.

I'm assuming those who are interested will figure out how ccboot or any similar software works, else i'll be happy to post a little howto.

Good luck to those who are interested!

Gixxer

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • August 18, 2007
    Spain
    Home Country
    Spain Spain
    hi and welcome to the forum!

i would be really interested in that how to tutorial.

its something that a lot of people want to do. i once looked into using a usb drive but didnt make it.

network would be even better.

sn34ky

Portal Member
    June 30, 2009
    Home Country
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Thanks Gixxer, usb is also interesting. Haven't tried it yet, but i have this howto install windows on usb site bookmarked and on the todo list.

Well shrej, it's good you ask because i'm having trouble with S3. When going to standby the computer reboots.
    So i would say it doesn't work, but maybe there's a workaround somewhere. Probably some entry in the registry to treat the hd in a different matter when going to standby. So far i haven't really looked into it.

I'm a little tight on time now but sunday night or monday i'll post a little guide on here.

Gixxer

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter