Server or no server (1 Viewer)

Alexh

Portal Member
October 30, 2016
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Hi all,

I have been using WMC for over 10 years, been looking for a replacement for some time but for some reason never saw any mention of Mediaportal.
The WMC Live TV is very good but watching MkV's is a big headache.
Mediaportal actually has very good documentation also!
Have not installed yet.

I have 2 HTPC's each with 1 or 2 Hauppauge 2250's.
My network is all hardwire.
At first I was not sure if I should use Mediaportal in server mode but I can think of at least 2 major advantages. Also I already have a server for storage of media files.
Because currently I can only record locally, I have to have very large HDD's on my HTPC. If not I have to move the media files to my server and then of course WMC will re-record the same episodes because It does not know it already recorded it. So does not really solve the issue.

Also, I often schedule the same recordings on both HTPC's or I forget if I scheduled on one but not the other - you get the idea.

So my plan is too move the tuners to my server and install server only on server + 2 HTPC's with TV's.
I already have a schedules direct account.

Is this a good plan?

A big thanks to all the developers etc. as I thought I would have to abandon HTPC.
I will definitely make a contribution.

One additional question - If I have multiple HDD's on my server does mediaportal require that I combine these using NAS for example?
I could probably dedicate one drive to TV, one for movies etc.

Thanks!

Last edited:

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome :)

Is this a good plan?
    My opinion: it's definitely a good idea to have all your tuners in the server. As you've already identified, this is the best way to avoid double-recordings, re-recordings and having to move media around.