Stupid Questions - Winfast TV Card not showing video (1 Viewer)

Enigma_2k4

Portal Member
August 11, 2009
In ur cookies!
Home Country
South Africa South Africa
Hi all,

I am new to Media Portal, but my first hand impressions are EXCELLENT! I am so impressed, I never knew an open source project could be so good! I will certainly be making a donation if I can get my little "niggles" sorted out.

Basically, I think the problem is with me and not the software. However, I cannot makes use of my TV card in media portal, it works fine in the native software in windows but not in Media Portal. I think the challenge might be because it's using a direct component input (yellow RCA plug) and not the normal cable input with channel select. Anyone have any idea's on what I need to check to get it working?

Details:
Media Portal version: Not sure as I'm at work so cannot check off hand, however, it was downloaded 4 days ago so I presume must be the latest version.
CPU: AMD Athlon 3000+
VGA: Nvidia Geforce 6600GT (PCI-X)
TV Card: Leadtek Winfast DVR

The video input comes in the form of a composite connection (RCA cable) directly into the input in the TV card from my satellite top set box. As previously stated it works fine when using the Winfast PVR software that came bundled with it.

Any suggestions and assistance would be greatly appreciated!

:D:D:D:D

rekenaar

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 17, 2006
    Home Country
    Hi there and welcome :)

The version is actually quite important.
    The latest stable version is 1.0.2. This version contains 2 TV engines. The old unmaintained inbuilt TV as well as the newer TVServer.
    The latest test version, is 1.1.0 alpha. This version only contains the TVServer.

So if you are on 1.0.2, then the question is which TV engine you use? If not TVServer, I would actually recommend to first try it as it is supporting a much wider range TV cards.