Trouble with 30" in monitor (1 Viewer)

DiNASTY

June 22, 2006
Hello all,

I discovered MP about a week ago and I'm having some issues (some common and some uncommon i think) The first is that none of the offered skins offer decent quality at high resolutions, namely 2560x1600. They appear stretched and off-centered... even the widescreen versions. I have some experience skinning so If this is indeed a current limitation, i might take a crack at a skin for us 30" Dell/Apple users.

Some other issues that I encountered were in the "My Pictures" screen. I have it setup to change pictures every 3 seconds in the slide show, and it takes about 8-12 seconds. Also, there is no way to advance to the next/previous picture while in the slide show. is that correct?

Some other issues that I'm having are more common i think (from reading the forums a bit)

Channel changing ~ 4-9 seconds
Random Freezing (Rare)
MP setup loading time
Slow screen changes

My system:

Dell XPS Gen 4
3.4Ghz P4 HT
7900GT KO
Hauppauge 150 w/ 43button Remote
Win XP Home
MP RC4

Let me also say that I know exactly how hard it is to create an app like this. I have been int the Car-PC scene for a few years now and have worked on and skinned an open-source app called "Road Runner" which is very similar to a MC app in some respect.

In that particular program, some of the issues above were solved by precashing the screens and the play-lists/directory lists during startup. This way the screens were already loaded into memory and changed almost instantaneously.

I think overall MP is a great full-featured app, but with an XPS honestly i was expecting it to be equivalent (if not faster) than XBMC was on my $150 xbox. Sadly that's not the case. I was initially thrilled at the long list of features, but they just arent practical at 5-6 second delays ya know? Are any speed improvements planned? If so, I would definitely hold out for the next release.

Thanks for reading,

-DiNASTY :D

chili

Portal Pro