Trying to setup my remote - please help (1 Viewer)

WTBHelp

Portal Pro
October 25, 2009
Hi guys - got this remote, Anyware GP-IR02BK (Newegg.com - Anyware GP-IR02BK Vista 2 channel IR Remote Control)

-I'm running XP Pro, so there are no downloadable drivers for this remote :( (no CD in box either).
-I used Aaron's MCE remote replacement driver to help XP find the device, https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/ir-server-suite-irss-165/obsolete-mce-replacement-driver-29024/
-Windows pics up my remote now (before I couldnt even get it to say eHome, just said "unknown USB device")

-the red light on the USB device goes red when I push any button so I know there is a connection.

Now this is where I'm stuck. I dont know what to do next. I thought that IR Server 1.0.4.1 (by Aaron) would help me manually map all my keys, but I didnt see any functionality in there (im new to this). It is installed so please let me know if I dont need it.

I also was unable to map the keys in Mediaportal config (didnt see any options there).

Can someone please point me in the right direction, or at least tell me where to start. I assume that I need to find something that allows me to register my buttons in MP right? Like, "click now to map play", and then I hit my play button, and it finds it, or am I off base?

Thanks guys. Any help is much appreciated.

UPDATE: I meant to mention that I'm using my PC for work, running my TV dual screen out of my ATI 5770. Wife likes to watch movies, I like to work at same time, so keyboard/mouse control need to be different to remote. I'll deal with the focus problem when I get there, but for now I just want to get the remote working. Thanks again.

kyleh0000

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 28, 2009
    Home Country
    Can anyone help plz? Thanks.

I have been using event ghost to do my mappings and it works very well

EventGhost