[confirm] TsReader oddities when dealing with TS files with PCR rollover (1 Viewer)

asselin

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • May 29, 2010
    Home Country
    United States of America United States of America
    MediaPortal Version: 1.2.0 Beta
    MediaPortal Skin: DefaultWide
    Windows Version: Windows 7 + SP1
    CPU Type: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600
    HDD: WD 1T + WD 1.5T
    Memory: 4G
    Motherboard: ASUS
    Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 4550
    Video Card Driver: 11.5
    Sound Card: ATI Radeon HD 4550 (HDMI)
    Sound Card AC3: HDMI
    Sound Card Driver: 11.5
    1. TV Card: HDHomerun HDHR2
    1. TV Card Type: ATSC
    1. TV Card Driver: 20110323
    2. TV Card: HDHomerun HDHR3
    2. TV Card Type: ATSC
    2. TV Card Driver: 20110323
    MPEG2 Video Codec: ffdshow SAF 5.01
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow SAF 5.01
    h.264 Video Codec: ffdshow DXVA SAF 5.01
    TV - HTPC Connection: HDMI

First, I'm fairly new to MediaPortal-- I've been using it approx 1-2 months now. Before that, I was using GBPVR. I mention this because when I migrated, I had a large backlog of TS files I recorded OTA using GBPVR that I imported into MediaPortal (by way of ForTheRecord).

Most of the files played fine, but a few exhibited 2 problems:
    1. Hit OK on the remote to start playback, and MediaPortal would freeze. HDD light goes solid, and after a while (could be minutes), the file starts playing back.
    2. After it starts playing back, if you try to skip forward or backward, the HDD light goes solid again, and then after a while, the recording restarts from the beginning.

Needless to say, spousal approval of MediaPortal took a hit upon running into these.

I did some investigating, and found a clue in TsReader.log that lead me to the problem:

26-06-2011 21:22:59.522 [d2c]Abnormal start PCR, endPcr 118052298, startPcr 8368037531
    26-06-2011 21:22:59.544 [d2c]Abnormal start PCR, endPcr 118052298, startPcr 8368037531