TV server utility scans, finds no channels

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by cdncapt, April 15, 2011.

  1. cdncapt

    cdncapt New Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Hi. I am trying to set up MediaPortal and I have a ATI TV Wonder 650 USB Tuner. When the tv server utility program scans for active channels, it comes back with 0. I ensured that the cable in .. was active, that TV server correctly recognised the tuner, and that the correct country was chosen. I installed MediaPortal after un-installing WMC due to many problems and lack of any support. WMC did however, recognise the tuner and found all channels during setup scan so I know that portion really does work. I am probably missing something simple but I see any problem. The zipped logfile is attached as per Forum Guidlines.
    Thanks in advance for all your help.



    Kirk
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi there

    I can see that there are two problems:

    1. The tuner is not set up properly.
    2. TV Server is not able to correctly detect whether your tuner is receiving a channel or not.

    The first thing I'd advise you to do is to restart your computer. Tuners can't be used by more than one application at once, and I suspect that the first problem is caused by you attempting to use the tuner in other software (maybe WMC) before or during your scanning attempts in TV Server. Restarting will hopefully mean that TV Server can get the access to the tuner that it needs.

    After that, delete the MediaPortal log files in C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\TV Server\log\ (you'll need to enable viewing of hidden and system files in order to see the folder in windows explorer), try to scan again, and if you still have problems post new logs here.
     
  4. cdncapt

    cdncapt New Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Thank You for the fast reply.
    Ok. So here is what i have done since reading your post. I made sure that Windows Media Center was uninstalled. I also uninstalled MediaPortal and then re-installed that as well. When I open TV setup utility it DOES recognise that in left window that It does see a card. It names it as Analog ATI AVStream Analog Tuner. I do select canada and source as cable. A working cable connection is plugged into the tuner. (this previously worked in WMC btw and discovered channels). when I scan for channels it finds no signals. :eek:

    As far as I know, there is nothing that uses that tuner apart from WMC and that is now un-installed and machine rebooted.

    Attached is the newest log of when I try to set up TV server configuration.

    Thanks in advance for all the help. I really DO appreciate it
     
  5. furnibird
    • Premium Supporter

    furnibird Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 15, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    61
    Occupation:
    Lithographic Printer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0
    I am having same problem here. My card works fine mce but will not scan in MP after a full reinstall. Worked fine before.?? any help would be great.
     
  6. furnibird
    • Premium Supporter

    furnibird Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 15, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    61
    Occupation:
    Lithographic Printer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0
    Ok fixed my issue by updating to the latest build :)thx:Damien) and it even picks up the fm radio in my WinTV-HVR-2250 which MP never did before. :D gents.
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Yeah, that fix is/will be new in 1.2.0b. I'm happy to say that I found out how to make that work.

    Glad to hear things are working nicely. :D
     
  8. furnibird
    • Premium Supporter

    furnibird Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 15, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    61
    Occupation:
    Lithographic Printer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0
    Cheers thanks for help and all your good work. Working well.
     
  9. cdncapt

    cdncapt New Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    I had the latest build.. that was first thing I checked. also made sure that the drivers for the ati 650 usb tuner were the latest. Still no solution in site. As for setting up the tuner properly??? There is no setup?? You plug it in and add power, and windows discovers it.
     
  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi again Kirk

    I had a look at your latest logs several times, but they're *incredibly* long - 8000 lines for the TV log and 8000 lines for the error log. That is because it looks like you've scanned over and over again, and each frequency that TV Server attempts to scan causes at least three errors...

    Here's the thing: you shouldn't actually even be able to scan. It is abundantly clear from the logs that TV Server is simply not able to initialise the tuner correctly. The relevant section of the TV Server log is:

    Show Spoiler
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.586607 [(6)]: card: Tune 2 to
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.589607 [(6)]: card: user: Bauer-PC:2:-1 tune tv: Freq:0 Channel:4 Country:Canada Tuner:Cable Video:Tuner Audio:Tuner
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.607608 [(6)]: analog: Tune:tv: Freq:0 Channel:4 Country:Canada Tuner:Cable Video:Tuner Audio:Tuner
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.625609 [(6)]: analog: build graph
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.638610 [(6)]: analog: AddTvTunerFilter ATI AVStream Analog Tuner
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.682613 [(6)]: analog: Detecting capabilities of the tuner
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.687613 [(6)]: analog: No stored or invalid graph for Crossbar component - Trying to detect
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.698614 [(6)]: analog: AddCrossBarFilter try:ATI AVStream Analog Xbar 0
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.721615 [(6)]: crossbar pin:0 type:Video_Tuner, related:3
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.724615 [(6)]: crossbar pin:1 type:Video_SVideo, related:4
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.727615 [(6)]: crossbar pin:2 type:Video_Composite, related:4
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.729615 [(6)]: crossbar pin:3 type:Audio_Tuner, related:0
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.732615 [(6)]: crossbar pin:4 type:Audio_Line, related:2
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.737616 [(6)]: analog: PinDest:name:0: Video Tuner In [6/1] Direction:Input Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.739616 [(6)]: analog: pinSource 0:name:Analog Video [11/1] Direction:Output Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.742616 [(6)]: analog: pins connected
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.745616 [(6)]: analog: AddCrossBarFilter succeeded
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.748616 [(6)]: analog: No stored graph for TvAudio component - Trying to detect
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.753617 [(6)]: analog: AddTvAudioFilter try:ATI AVStream Analog TV Audio 0
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.758617 [(6)]: analog: AddTvAudioFilter succeeded:ATI AVStream Analog TV Audio
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.761617 [(6)]: analog: No stored or invalid graph for Capture component - Trying to detect
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.778618 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter try:confused:B Audigy Audio [E880] 0
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.786619 [(6)]: analog: PinSource:name:0: Video Decoder Out [14/1] Direction:Output Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.790619 [(6)]: analog: pinDest 0:name:ADC [6/1] Direction:Input Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.794619 [(6)]: analog: pinDest 1:name:DAC [6/1] Direction:Input Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.797619 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter failed to connect to crossbar
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.800619 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter try:confused:B Audigy MIDI IO 2 [E880] 1
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.806620 [(6)]: analog: PinSource:name:0: Video Decoder Out [14/1] Direction:Output Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.808620 [(6)]: analog: pinDest 0:name:MIDI [6/1] Direction:Input Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.812620 [(6)]: analog: pinDest 1:name:Input3 [6/1] Direction:Input Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.815620 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter failed to connect to crossbar
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.818620 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter try:ATI AVStream Analog Capture 2
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.829621 [(6)]: analog: PinSource:name:0: Video Decoder Out [14/1] Direction:Output Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.832621 [(6)]: analog: pinDest 0:name:ATI Analog Video Input [6/1] Direction:Input Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.836621 [(6)]: analog: pinDest 1:name:ATI Analog Audio Input [6/1] Direction:Input Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.840622 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter failed to connect to crossbar
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.845622 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter try:HD Audio Muxed capture 3
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.850622 [(6)]: analog: PinSource:name:0: Video Decoder Out [14/1] Direction:Output Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.852622 [(6)]: analog: pinDest 0:name:Input1 [6/1] Direction:Input Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.856623 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter failed to connect to crossbar
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.859623 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter try:HD Webcam C510 4
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.864623 [(6)]: analog: PinSource:name:0: Video Decoder Out [14/1] Direction:Output Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.866623 [(6)]: analog: pinDest 0:name:Microphone [6/1] Direction:Input Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.870623 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter failed to connect to crossbar
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.875624 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter try: 5
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.879624 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter try:confused:B Audigy MIDI IO [E880] 6
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.884624 [(6)]: analog: PinSource:name:0: Video Decoder Out [14/1] Direction:Output Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.886624 [(6)]: analog: pinDest 0:name:MIDI [6/1] Direction:Input Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.890625 [(6)]: analog: pinDest 1:name:Input3 [6/1] Direction:Input Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.893625 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter failed to connect to crossbar
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.896625 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter try:Logitech HD Webcam C510 7
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.901625 [(6)]: analog: PinSource:name:0: Video Decoder Out [14/1] Direction:Output Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.904625 [(6)]: analog: pinDest 0:name:Video Camera Terminal [6/1] Direction:Input Connected:False
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.907625 [(6)]: analog: AddTvCaptureFilter failed to connect to crossbar
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.917626 [(6)]: analog:Dispose()
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.920626 [(6)]: tvcard:FreeAllSubChannels
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.923626 [(6)]: Remove filter from graph: ATI AVStream Analog Xbar
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.925627 [(6)]: Remove filter from graph: ATI AVStream Analog TV Audio
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.928627 [(6)]: Remove filter from graph: ATI AVStream Analog Tuner
    2011-04-17 19:56:37.931627 [(6)]: analog:All filters removed


    Analog tuner initialisation is a complex process. Without getting too technical, you have to connect "things" (technically: filters) together like this:

    Tuner --------> Crossbar --> Capture --> Encoder -->...
    TV Audio -|

    In your case, TV Server successfully connects the tuner and TV audio to the crossbar (a crossbar is the thing that TV Server uses to select the correct physical input - eg. component, composite, tuner, s-video), but it fails to connect the crossbar to the capture filter. That could happen for a few reasons:

    1. The tuner is in use in another application.
    This is pretty self explanatory. A tuner can only be used in one application at a time. Some people aren't aware of this limitation, which is why I usually mention this first.

    2. TV Server hasn't chosen the correct crossbar to use with the tuner.
    This isn't common, but it can happen if the tuner driver makes multiple crossbars available to the system.

    3. TV Server has picked the right crossbar, but it can't figure out how to connect it appropriately with the capture filter.
    Again, not common, but possible.

    So, you have an ATI AVStream tuner. Connecting that to an "ATI AVStream Analog Xbar" seems correct. The fact that TV Server failed to connect that crossbar to the "ATI AVStream Analog Capture" seems to be the issue. At this point I can't be sure if there are other crossbars in your system, or whether TV Server's attempts to make the connection are somehow flawed. For that reason I'm going to give you some instructions that will tell us what we need to know:

    1. Download and run GraphStudio (no installation required).
    2. Click [in the top menu] "graph"->"insert filter...".
    3. In the first field in the top left corner, select the "WDM Streaming Crossbar Devices" category.
    4. Ensure that "all filters" is selected in the second field.
    5. Double click on each entry in the list (or use the "insert" button) to add each crossbar to the graph.
    6. Do the same with the "WDM Streaming Capture Devices" category.
    7. Close the popup (hit escape or use the red cross in the corner).
    8. Take a screenshot ***using "graph->"make graph screenshot"***, paste it into paint (or something like that), save, and then post it here.

    If the tuner worked in WMC then it is certain that the tuner can work. Issues 2 & 3 aren't common, but we can check them with the screenshot that I've asked for. It is still possible that issue 1 is the problem. Have you installed ATI software (aside from video card drivers, Catalyst Control Centre and AVIVO filters)? If so, that needs to be uninstalled too...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. cdncapt

    cdncapt New Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Ok.. First I want to take the time to thank you for your help. Even tho we have not resolved the issue yet, I want you to know that your help IS greatly appreciated.

    Here is where we stand as of now. attached please find the ATI graph file as requested and also the media portal logs. I am also going to try using the video input to the ATI tuner.. to see if I can get media portal to 'read' that input.
     

    Attached Files:

    • ATI Graph.jpg
      ATI Graph.jpg
      File size:
      49.5 KB
      Uploaded:
      April 23, 2011
      Views:
      10
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!