unable to do a complete uninstall of Media Portal 2 (1 Viewer)

Heather Drew

January 4, 2016
Home Country
Australia Australia
I am relatively new to media portal 2. Both our computers died recently and with new computers using windows10 I thought MP2 would be a good alternative to Windows Media Player.

I have set Media Portal 2 up successfully on one computer but am wanting to set it up on my brand new HP Pavillion Laptop to use with the TV temporarily until we get the other computer repaired. I messed it up. Firstly I didn't get the media player set up before I installed MP2 and secondly I had installed Mcafee Virus protection program unintentionally which caused firewall problems. I have uninstalled Mcafee now as I don't want to use it.

I want to completely uninstall MP2 but the menu to choose a complete uninstall as described in Wiki Doesn't come up and when I reinstall, all my settings and problems are still there.

The problems I have are I am trying to fix by a new reinstall are:
1) When I scan for TV channels I get no signal but I checked device manager and updated the driver for the tuner and system says tuner is working properly. I checked all my settings are the same as on the other computer where I have it up and running properly.

2) When I try to play a movie which is on an external hard drive I have configured as a media source. It says no media item found. It does play music which I have on the internal disk drive.

I think I have lost the log file as I have uninstalled MP2.

Lehmden

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 17, 2010
    Lehmden
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    Hi.
    I want to completely uninstall MP2