Usage of Git by MediaPortal (1 Viewer)

Oxan

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • August 29, 2009
    Home Country
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Hi,

First I'd like to say that I'm happy that you've moved to Git (and GitHub) for your source control. It's a lot better version control then SVN in my opinion, but like you probably experienced, all begin is hard. I've been using Git for a few years now, and looking at the current MediaPortal repository there are a few things that stand out. Note that I'm not a team member nor do very active development on MediaPortal itself, and that Git supports multiple workflows, so this is really just my opinion, but I think it might be useful to you.

If I look at the current repository I see that branches are used a lot - that's a good thing, it's the power of Git. However, If I look at the current repository, there are 119 branches. The branch viewer shows me that more then half of these are already merged into master and Release_1.2.x. I think it's better to delete these stale branches: you don't need them anymore and they are just annoying when navigating through the branch list or history.

The base for branches also doesn't seem to be always correct. For example the topic branches for bugs 3772 and 3781 seem to be based on master, but are merged into Release_1.2.x later on. That doesn't give much problems now (with master and Release_1.2.x being very close), but when feature branches are merged into master it is going to give problems: with the merge of the topic branch (the BUG-XXXX branch), you'll also pull in the new features into Release_1.2.x.