MP2, plugins, and multiple clients. (1 Viewer)

craige1

Portal Pro
February 1, 2008
Alice Springs
Home Country
Australia Australia
Hello MP2 team,

As a plugin developer, I was wondering if MP2 will have any inbuilt support for sharing plugin configuration and databases, to help with multiple client setups?

Albert

MP2 Developer
  • Premium Supporter
  • February 18, 2008
    Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    AW: MP2, plugins, and multiple clients.

It's not planned to have inbuilt support for that. The strategy is not to have so many configuration options. Most of the options should be local for the client, e.g. the location of local shares, if the application should be shown fullscreen etc.
    If there will be areas with many options which make sense to be shared for multiple clients, we can develop a solution.

funkstar

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • August 9, 2005
    Home
    Home Country
    Scotland Scotland
    I had hoped that there would be more scope in MP2 for settings and options to be pushed out from the server or pulled from it by the client.

infinite.loop

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 26, 2004
    Home Country
    Austria Austria
    craige1, do you mean that the user only has to configure the plugin on one HTPC, and then is able to copy this configuration to all the other clients? Thats something I proposed on the Team already.

Maybe even "clone" an entire MP2 installation from one (template) HTPC to another including all skins/plugins/config/etc. That would be nice.

Regarding the "shared db".
    Good question how plugins like MovingPictures and TvSeries should work on a multiseat MP2 setup.
    Best would be if the developers of such MP1 plugins would take a look at the MP2 system and then share their thoughts about it. :)

Mike Lowrey

Portal Pro
    February 4, 2009
    Berlin
    Home Country
    Germany Germany