1.4.0 - MCE remote - How to map "step forward/back buttons"

Discussion in 'General Support' started by CanadianEh, June 4, 2013.

  1. CanadianEh

    CanadianEh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 21, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Good afternoon,



    I recently upgraded to 1.4.0, and noticed my old USBUIRT remote was functioning oddly (one click would case multiple actions), so I finally switched back to the supported MCE Remote option, which is working well.

    The only issue I have is I cannot figure out how to map the "step forward/back" and "big step forward/back" buttons on the remote, so they will fast forward/rewind TV using the increment values already set (10secs, etc).

    I reviewed this guide, and I don't see the correct options in the view to accomplish this:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...Portal_Configuration/8_Remote/Mapping_Buttons


    Thanks!!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Could a mod move this as it is not 1.4 specific?

    Out the box left/right do small steps and up/down do large steps. This should work without any configuration. Or do you want to map other buttons to do this?
     
  4. CanadianEh

    CanadianEh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 21, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Sorry for posting this in the wrong forum - I placed it here since I'm on 1.4.0, my apologies :)

    I will try that, but yes, I have separate buttons on my remote to do this. A picture of the MCE remote I'm using is here:

    http://www.carolsofficeplus.com/images/_products/profitbig/DBLB4187.jpg

    The buttons I'm trying to map are the two fast forward buttons just below the PLAY button.


    Thanks!
     
  5. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    that it's normal behaviour . arrows do skip steps, ffwd changes playback speed . you can probably chance behaviour by editing the xml or altering mapping in mp config[DOUBLEPOST=1370519564][/DOUBLEPOST]oh those buttons are for changing chapters
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!