[confirm] - 1.4 Windows 7 Half & Full Screen Problem

Discussion in '1.4.0 Pre-Release' started by MaxMan23, June 8, 2013.

  1. MaxMan23
    • Premium Supporter

    MaxMan23 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Since 1.4 i have this Problem: When i switch from my TV (1280 x 720) to my Beamer (1920 x 1080) MP does not resize to fullscreen. Bevor 1.4 i never had this Problem.

    Fullscreen.png


    And when i close MP and start again (Beamer) the Size is ok, but when i switch from the Beamer to the TV MP has a double Size.


     
    Last edited: June 13, 2013
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    @MaxMan23
    Thank you for the report... but again we need full logs from the watchdog. It is getting frustrating to ask you twice in the same day. Please always provide full log files if you want help. Otherwise such threads will be ignored or even deleted. I'm not trying to be grumpy - I want to help you - but it is hard when the information we need is not provided.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. MaxMan23
    • Premium Supporter

    MaxMan23 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi, you are right. I will create full logs in the evening and post them :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. MaxMan23
    • Premium Supporter

    MaxMan23 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Here are they :)
     
  6. MaxMan23
    • Premium Supporter

    MaxMan23 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi,

    are there some news on it? Can someone reproduce this?
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello again

    Thanks for providing the log files. (y)
    I've had a look and I think I can see where MP is detecting the screen change:
    What I'm not sure about is whether MP supports dynamic screen change. Probably only @Scythe42 can tell us that. His changes that are intended to fix many of the D3D handling issues are probably the cause of the change in behaviour between MP 1.3 and 1.4.

    mm
     
  8. Scythe42
    • Team MediaPortal

    Scythe42 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    2,632
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Professional Hacker
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +2,724 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Problem here is the resolution change of the primary display. This is not fully supported be MP and actually never was. That it worked on 1.3 is because of the HDMI half fullscreen bug that has an effect. It should have never worked.

    With some additional try and errors (meaning you have to test some binaries) this scenario can also be supported. So far in all Area 51 testing this scenario did not show up. I know exactly what is happening here but I cannot reproduce.

    For this to work properly, the D3D backbuffer needs to be re-created in case the actual resolution changed because the display changed.

    What you could try first is switching between windowed mode and fullscreen and let us know if there are any differences in behaviour (please provide logs). We then can take it from there.
     
  9. MaxMan23
    • Premium Supporter

    MaxMan23 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Ok, i will try the window Mode in the next days ;). Or can you create an Option: "HDMI half fullscreen bug" ON and "HDMI half fullscreen bug" OFF ;-)
     
  10. Scythe42
    • Team MediaPortal

    Scythe42 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    2,632
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Professional Hacker
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +2,724 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I was pointed to this topic: Resolution change after MP starts is not yet supported. So if you start MP with 1280x720 or 1024x768, when No AVR/TV is connected the backbuffer cannot be increased later on properly.

    Not related to HDMI Half/Full Screen in general, but a feature that is not yet included and may show in some settings.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. MacGyverek

    MacGyverek Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 27, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rydułtowy
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Poland Poland
    Show System Specs
    I have the same problem... 2 screens - one 7" screen for listen music, radio and second 37" TV for movies, television.
    To version 1.3 all working ok, >1.4 I have problem with resolution change. Why you blocked resolution changing??!!
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!