A decoder for the new track could not be found. track type: SRT/UTF8 (1 Viewer)

badbyte

January 2, 2009
Home Country
Portugal Portugal
Hello,

I'm new to MP and let me say that its a great media center software, i tested a lot of software and this is my choice, i can do everything i need with it, but i'm having just a little problem with x264 .mkv files on MP 1.0.
Every time i play a mkv movie i get this popup msg: "A decoder for the new track could not be found. track type: SRT/UTF8".
I made a quick search on the forum and i found out that its becouse of the subs included in the mkv files, but i could not find a solution to fix it.
I'm using this codecs: Xvid-1.2.1-04122008, ac3filter_1_51a, CoreAVC Professional Edition v1.8.5.0 ( with Haali media Splitter 1.8.122.18) and VobSub_2-23 for the subtitles.
Everything is working fine , all movies x264 and xvid play ok, with ac3 and dts sound. Subtitles are working with the xvid movies also, my only problem is with the mkv files.
I already tested removing VobSub_2-23 but i still get the popup msg. Does anyone know how can i fix this?
I would like to have subtitles on my movies, in the case of the mkv files i would prefer to use separate subs like in the xvid but if that isn't possible i don't mind not using subs at all.
Not getting the popup msg is the most important.
If anyone knows how to solve this please give me a little help.

Thanks in advance

vuego

Documentation Group
  • Team MediaPortal
  • August 5, 2006
    Göteborg
    Home Country
    Sweden Sweden
    I think what's happening is that MediaPortal does not auto load VobSub when you're playing mkv files so there's no filter that can take care of the SRT/UTF8.

You could try opening Start Menu -> Haali Media Splitter -> Media Splitter Settings -> Options -> Compatibility -> Autoload VSFilter and set it to Yes.