[TV] - Add timeshift buffer to a recording | Page 4

Discussion in 'Improvement Suggestions' started by RicoHTPC, April 18, 2012.

  1. RicoHTPC
    • Super User

    RicoHTPC Super User

    Joined:
    February 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Cuxhaven
    Ratings:
    +178 / 6
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I checked that yesterday and was suprised to see that this option is actually there.
    Unfortunately the feature did not work as it should, no difference to the behaviour before.
    I was wondering how this would work when you change the options inside the mp config anyway.
    I mean all settings for recording and timeshifting are in mp tv server config so I would have expected
    such options rather there than in mp config.



    Had anyone else more success?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. RicoHTPC
    • Super User

    RicoHTPC Super User

    Joined:
    February 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Cuxhaven
    Ratings:
    +178 / 6
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Anyone else who gave it a try?
     
  4. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Any input, @gibman ?

    Edit: Oh, wait.... Who implemented that feature in tve3 again?
     
    Last edited: July 18, 2012
  5. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    It was @gemx I suppose.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I haven't tested it methodically, but with that option enabled it does create an extra folder with the timeshift files in when I start a manual recording.
     
  7. RicoHTPC
    • Super User

    RicoHTPC Super User

    Joined:
    February 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Cuxhaven
    Ratings:
    +178 / 6
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Actually the idea was not about a manual recording but to add the respective timeshift files
    when a recordfing of a specific program had been started after the beginning.
    Is that technically possible?
     
  8. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Not sure what you mean.

    A scheduled recording has pre and post buffers which can be set to a certain number of minutes to record before/after the programme's scheduled time.

    I can only imagine a recording of a programme starting after the beginning if it is started manually by the user and in that situation this option seems to work to record the timeshift buffer as well (and timeshift files will only be present if the user is watching TV and manually starts a recording anyway).
     
  9. madvario

    madvario Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 6, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    Ratings:
    +20 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Same for me as you've found out.
    I also tried to use the same folder for timeshift and recording but it's always the same: no functionality.
     
  10. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    The experimental feature to add the TS buffer to a recording that is started later does not work anymore.
    But we have not abandoned this idea. Since quite some time one of our team members is working on enhancing the TV-Server. Yet this will not be ready for testing anytime soon.

    Just want to let you know that this is still on our radar. :)
     
  11. RicoHTPC
    • Super User

    RicoHTPC Super User

    Joined:
    February 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Cuxhaven
    Ratings:
    +178 / 6
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Sorry for expressing so unclear but you've got me totally right.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!