Artwork not matching movie in collection

Discussion in 'Moving Pictures' started by richardc1983, February 17, 2014.

  1. richardc1983

    richardc1983 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 10, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +25 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi there



    many of my movies have the wrong pictures thumbnails showing up for the films. Moving pictures plug in seems to assign a different picture for films I already have in my collection that have the right picture.

    Any update on this being fixed or how to fix it?
     
    • Missing System Logs and/or Specs Missing System Logs and/or Specs x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 2
    You mean when movies share the same title on remakes/etc?

    That is a known issue, the only workaround that I know off is via IMDb+, because it renames the titles on import to for example "3:10 to Yuma (Original)" for the 1957 original, so that the 2007 remake (more users will have that version in their collection) will remain as "3:10 to Yuma" and they both have their correct cover/backdrop shown.

    I manually maintain that list for IMDb+ and there are currently 2062 movie title entries now for movie-series/title-conflicts, but if I missed one let me know in the IMDb+ thread. Assuming that is a workaround you do not mind going with, otherwise 'star' the following Google code issue:


    There is a renewed development effort going on, so maybe the issue will finally get worked on.
     
  4. richardc1983

    richardc1983 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 10, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +25 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    No what I mean is a film Abduction has the write text information but the cover picture is for a film called Anger Management... also present in my database but has the art work for a film called Hachi - A Dogs Tale. The film Hachi also has the wrong cover but the description and text etc are fine.
     
  5. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 2
    Covers and backdrops are 'fetched' seperatly from movie details. You can adjust their priority seperatly with Moving-Pictures configuration. So the problem you might run into is wrong cover scraper order, or false-positve imports by the details scraper-script.

    Put fanart.tv and TMDb at #1 and #2 priority, see if that solves your issues.

    You can update the cover directly inside Movie Manager tab of Moving-Pictures configuration with the little recycle icon under the cover image. To update fanart you will have to send movie back to the importer.
     
  6. richardc1983

    richardc1983 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 10, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +25 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Ok I can try to do this to see if it will fix it. I am not sure how exactly to change the priority of fanart and Tmdb? Is that in configuration?

    The strange thing is that it seems to use pictures from other films in my collection and matches them to the wrong film. Its not pulling random pictures from the internet it just isnt putting them to the right film :(
     
  7. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 2

    Rename your existing database from db3 to movingpictures.old, and then reconfigure MovPic anew, and see if it all works fine then. If it does, you might be better off deleting the old database and not look back.
     
  8. richardc1983

    richardc1983 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 10, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +25 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I followed the instructions above and changed priorities around then sent to the importer the problematic films and all seem ok now.

    This is a new database installation with windows it did it on the old version so I think it was the settings that were incorrect.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!