ASUS My Cinema PCI Combo TV Tuner Card PS3-110

Discussion in 'General Support' started by rmppod, June 27, 2015.

  1. rmppod

    rmppod Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    After trying to scan for analog channels on an Asus TV Tuner Card (PS3-110), I get the following message upon failure to scan:
    “Please install a supported audio/video encoder for your software analog card”.
    I have no problems in scanning for digital channels provided on my cable connection. From the information I am able to glean, the PS3-110 card has hardware encoders. Is there a setting that needs to be addressed to enable the scanning process for analog to recognize hardware encoders? Is the PS-110 analog tuner compatible with MediaPortal? Would appreciate any help to get the PS-110 analog tuner to work.
    Summary of my setup::
    ASUS My Cinema PCI Combo TV Tuner Card (Digital ATSC/QAM and Analog NTSC) – PS3-110
    (Asus My Cinema PS3-110 Capture Card)
    Key features:
    Watch digital (ATSC/QAM) or analog (NTSC) TV programs on PC
    Auto-launch a Vista sidebar TV on startup with “ASUS GadgeTV Technology”
    Record, edit and burn video into DVD or VCD
    Instant recording, schedule recording, and Timeshifting supported
    Remote control kit for easy channel surfing
    Listen to MP3 music or FM radio
    Capture external video-in source
    Watch your favorite DVD and VCD
    Sort video and photographs
    “ASUS Splendid Technology“ for better video color enhancement
    “ASUS VideoSecurity Online Technology” for making your private security system on PC
    Microsoft Vista Home Premium / Vista Home Basic / Vista Ultimate / Windows XP certified



    Feature
    What kind of main capture features it supports
    Analog VideoIn = Analog composite or/and SVHS video input
    Video Card = If it is a Video Card/Graphic Card
    Tv Tuner = Built-In TV-Tuner
    Digital TV = Built-In Digital TV-Tuner
    DV/Firewire = DV/Firewire/i.Link input
    DV Converter = Analog composite or/and SVHS video input and converts to DV video
    MPEG1 hardware = Capture directly MPEG1(VCD) video using hardware*
    MPEG2 hardware = Capture directly MPEG2(SVCD and DVD) video using hardware*
    MJPEG hardware = Capture directly to MJPEG using hardware*
    MPEG4 hardware = Capture directly to MPEG4(DivX,Xvid) video using hardware*

    Analog ASUS PS3-110 BDA Analog TV Tuner

    ATSC ASUS PS3-110 BDA ATSC Tuner

    My Computer System:

    Windows 8.1 Professional (x64) (build 9600)
    Mother Board: Intel Corporation DP43BF
    4086 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
    Processor: 3.15 gigahertz Intel Xeon
    1548.58 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
    NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS [Display adapter]

    My Cable provides NTSC for Analog and 256 QAM for Digital.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome! :)

    I'll get straight to the point: can you please post your log files (as per the sticky thread for this section of the forum) so that I can check out what's going on. If the tuner does have hardware encoders, you shouldn't have been seeing that message. The fact that you are probably indicates that the tuner either does not have hardware encoders or is currently incompatible with TV Server. Either way, these are problems that can be resolved... but log files are needed in order to know how to proceed.

    Regards,
    mm
     
  4. rmppod

    rmppod Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    mm

    I have tried to upload the most current log files generated on 27 June. Once I entered "Upload a File", there was no way to return to the thread. I even tried to go back and edit my original post, to no avail. What am I missing to complete the file upload action.

    Thanks,

    rmppod
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    After you've selected a file and clicked "open" (within "upload a file") you should be back to the thread.
     
  6. rmppod

    rmppod Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Will try again. Maybe I did not wait long enough after uploading. Do you do one file at a time if uploading more than one file?
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    No. Please zip the files. I have a limited internet connection.

    If you can't get the upload working here, you'd be welcome to upload the log files to DropBox, OneDrive or similar, and post a link here.
     
  8. rmppod

    rmppod Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    After further research, I found that the upload needs to be in the form of a zip file generated by the Watch Dog. Will do this and post again. Thanks for your response and patience as I figure out the forum interface.
     
  9. rmppod

    rmppod Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Attached are my log files. This time I stayed in the thread window when I selected "Upload a File". Previously, another window opened and I seemed to be uploading files, but there way no return to the thread window. Anyway, the file seems to be loading.
     
  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
  11. rmppod

    rmppod Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    It has been a while since I have had time to go back to the issue of finding and loading a software encoder. Here recently I have been able to find and load the ATI MPEG encoder and the Cyberlink MPEG encoder. Both encoders were detected by the MediaPortal TV Server and Analog channels were detected with my ASUS PS3-110 BDA card with both encoders. The video on the display window for an analog channel is very satisfactory. One question I have about the display concerns the strip of modulation noise at the bottom of the window. Is there a way to prevent this noise from


    being displayed? I am attaching a sample of a captured Analog display window to illustrate what I am seeing. Any information on this would be greatly appreciated. Analog Channel Screen Display.PNG
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!