[further infos missing] - Audio delay with MediaPortal Audio Renderer

Discussion in '1.6.0 Pre Release' started by Zuzler, December 4, 2013.

  1. Zuzler

    Zuzler Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi guys,

    as soon as I am setting the "MediaPortal - Audio Renderer" in Codecs and Renderer settings, audio gets delayed/asynchronous no matter what movie I am watching. Also, the "click" sound played upon changing volume or entering a menu is not played or played back distorted with a crackling noise (some kind of incorrect sound overlay I presume)

    Is this a common issue or do you need my logfiles? I am running the 1.6.0 Pre-Release.

    Thanks in advance!


     
    • Missing System Logs and/or Specs Missing System Logs and/or Specs x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Nope, not a common issue.

    If you need support, you need to supply us with the appropriate info.
    That means, full debug logs, systems specs filled in and steps to reproduce.
     
  4. Zuzler

    Zuzler Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Here you go. I opened MP, started TV and pressed a few remote buttons to get the click sound. Every time there was audio distortion in the TV audio feed.
     
  5. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    No errors in the logs, but that's normal with the steps you did, but i'm missing the AudioRender.log
    It seems you started LiveTV, and that uses default directsound device?

    Btw: i'm probably not gonna see the 'distortion' you're talking about in the logs.
     
  6. Zuzler

    Zuzler Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Yeah I know they won't be visible in the logs. Where do I get the missing log from?
    It seems like an audio overlay issue. Some short crackling everytime I press a button and the according sound is played. If I choose the MP Audio Renderer it's there, if I chose Default DirectSound Device it's gone.

    Any special settings I have to change on the options page of the MP Audio Renderer?
     
  7. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  8. Zuzler

    Zuzler Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hmmm, setting resampling to "SRC_SINC_BEST_QUALITY" might have done the trick.

    But it says it assumes a SNR ot 97dB whilst my audio card supports 118dB. But for the moment it's very good, the artifacts are gone.
    Is this a software renderer or will it get passed on to my audio card?
     
  9. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  10. Zuzler

    Zuzler Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Yeah, that's where I got the information from :)

    But I couldn't find anything about the processing part. Do you think it's purely software or will the stream get sent to a matching hardware (if found by the system)?
     
  11. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!