Avermedia Polaris and Mediaportal - unable to configure (1 Viewer)

dbsevern

March 3, 2015
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hi,

I am a complete newbie at setting up mediaportal/tv service, so apologies if my question is stupid or obvious. I am trying to configure mediaportal to work with the inbuilt AVermedia tv card on my Lenovo A540. Whenever I try to configure the TV-server or scan with the tuner card, it just hangs and doesn't appear to do anything, and I eventually have to kill the task off. I have also tried to configure other TV servers/PVR, and have had no success with any of them, so assume there is something basic I am missing, but I have been round the houses installing and uninstalling various pieces of software. Mediaportal looks like the best of the bunch to me, so I am determined to get it working - any suggestions what I might be missing. Are there any logs I can provide with might give a clue. Any help you can offer would be gratefully received.

dbsevern

March 3, 2015
Home Country
Hi Vasilich. The tuner works with the associated AVermedia TV viewer software, and also managed to scan and view with Sichbo PVR. I have uninstalled the AVermedia viewer, in case that was causing a conflict. I have attached the logs from the last attempt I made at scanning - as before it did not actually seem to scan or find anything.

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello dbsevern

That's a weird problem you've got on your hands there!

I've never seen anything quite like this before. I'm not 100% sure what the problem is, but it appears like your laptop has some kind of issue with the registered DirectShow devices or codecs. Or maybe the tuner driver is not installed correctly. I say that because TV Server is able to detect your tuner, but not load it... which is extremely odd.

I'm not really sure how to go about resolving this, but first please can you: