AVerMedia TD310 cannot find channels

Discussion in 'TV-Cards' started by Terra, July 13, 2016.

  1. Terra

    Terra Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 25, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Hi guys,



    I just bought a AVerMedia TD310 USB Stick for DVB-T2, DVB-T and DVB-C and I cannot find any channels with MediaPortal TV Server.
    I also have an internal KNC One TV-Station PCI TV-card for DVB-C and with that one I can find and watch all channels without any problems -> So the cable and signal is ok
    Both devices are recognized by MediaPortal TV Server in the settings dialog, just no channel get found for the AVerMedia Stick.

    I can find channels and watch TV with the included AVerTV 3D software -> again confirm that the cable and signal is ok

    Hope someone can help [​IMG]

    http://www.avermedia.com/tv_more/product/tv/avermedia_td310

    No errors in windows device manager and the stick works with the AVerMedia software.
    Latest drivers are installed 14.7.64.18 from 10.04.2015.
    Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 with DVB fix
    Media Portal 1.15
    TV-Server Logs attached

    br
    Terra
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Thanks for the report Terra

    So you are only trying to scan DVB-C channels, right?
    ...not trying DVB-T/T2?

    Can you please try:
    1. Close TV Server Configuration.
    2. Open your tuning detail file: c:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\TuningParameters\dvbc\Austria.*****.xml. You can open XML files in any text editor (notepad, wordpad etc.).
    3. Change the symbol rate values from 6900 to 6900000.
    4. Save and close.
    5. Reopen TV Server Configuration and try to scan again.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. Terra

    Terra Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 25, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Correct yes, DVB-C

    Unfortunately also no success by following your steps :/

    However I just tried to scan for channels on a Windows 10 PC and it worked. Seems to be related to drivers or something else :(
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Can you provide the log files?
    (I want to ensure that the change applied correctly and that there was no additional clues.)

    Which drivers are you using on Server 2008?

    One other suggestion...
    Try using the "DVBC" network provider instead of the "generic" one:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...nfiguration/02_TV_Servers#Edit_Tuner_Settings
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. Terra

    Terra Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 25, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Thank you for your help!

    Attached are the new logs and the tuning parameters file I use, the old one and the new one "Austria.Home6900000.xml" with 6900000.
    I use "Austria.Home.xml" for my old "KNC One TV Station DVB-C PCI" without any problems, it uses 6900.

    6900000 Type Generic = log_settype_generic_6900000.zip

    I also tried your other suggestion, unfortunately no success as well :(

    6900000 Type DVBC = log_settype_dvbc_6900000.zip
    6900 Type DVBC = log_settype_dvbc_6900.zip
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    It looks like you're doing everything right, but still no success... and no new clues in the log files.

    I'm not sure what else to suggest. If it works on W10, I guess that you're right about the problem being something related to the driver.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Terra

    Terra Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 25, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Something that I just noticed thats maybe relevant:

    With my old KNC One TV Station Card the channel "ORF1 HD" is set in the Tuning Parameters XML file of Mediaportal to:

    Frequency 530000
    Mod256Qam
    6900

    AVerTV 3D lists "ORF1 HD" under the following different parameters:

    Frequency 529989
    Mod256Qam
    6901

    However also with those parameters I cannot find anything in MP, both with GENERIC and DVBC type... :(
    I guess I will buy a cheap Win7 licence and make the free upgrade to Win10 for my setup before end of July... :/

    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>529989</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>6901</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>

    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>529989</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>69010</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>
    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>529989</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>690100</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>
    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>529989</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>6901000</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>

    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>529989</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>6900</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>
    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>529989</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>69000</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>
    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>529989</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>690000</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>
    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>529989</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>6900000</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>

    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>530000</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>6901</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>
    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>530000</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>69010</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>
    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>530000</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>690100</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>
    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>530000</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>6901000</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>

    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>530000</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>6900</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>
    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>530000</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>69000</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>
    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>530000</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>690000</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>
    <DVBCTuning><Frequency>530000</Frequency><ModulationType>Mod256Qam</ModulationType><SymbolRate>6900000</SymbolRate></DVBCTuning>
     

    Attached Files:

  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Good spotting. (y)
    Unfortunately I don't think the difference is significant. Tuners have a "margin of error" for frequency and symbol rate. As long as the value is close enough to correct, the tuner will be able to lock on signal.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  11. Terra

    Terra Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 25, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for all your help. I also tried it now with higher init times etc. but no success to get it properly running...
    I think I have finally given up on this USB TV Card Stick and will send it back.

    I just noticed that it also does not work properly with Win10!

    I now installed Win10 x64 on my TV-Server PC and it is now also not working on Win10 with MediaPortal or DVB Viewer.
    However, it always works right after the first driver installation in Windows!
    Log attached

    My findings with a fresh Win10 x64 and MediaPortal 1.15:
    1. Plugin USB Stick for the first time
    2. Install AVerMedia Driver (ONLY the driver, not the AVerTV 3D software)
    3. MediaPortal and DVB-Viewer find channels, can tune, can play live TV
    4. Restart Windows
    5. MediaPortal is unable to use the card. Error message is -> No Signal
    6. Uninstall the USB Stick and Driver in Device Manager
    7. Restart Windows
    8. Install AVerMedia Driver (ONLY the driver, not the AVerTV 3D software)
    9. MediaPortal and DVB-Viewer find channels, can tune, can play live TV
    10. Restart Windows
    11. MediaPortal is unable to use the card. Error message is -> No Signal
    I tested those steps now 3 times because I could not believe it, always reproduceable.

    Bildschirmfoto 2016-07-15 um 21.30.45.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2016-07-15 um 22.05.49.png

    After restart of PC:
    Bildschirmfoto 2016-07-15 um 22.11.58.png
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!