Best way to get audio and video to a second TV in the house?

Discussion in 'Video-Cards' started by TheBatfink, March 9, 2013.

  1. TheBatfink
    • Premium Supporter

    TheBatfink MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Business System Analyst
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +221 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi, just wondering if anyone else is doing this. I'm thinking of rigging mp up to a second tv in the bedroom but I'm worried about buying a small form factor htpc in case its not powerful enough so wanted to investigate streaming it. My thought would be to just use an ir extended to get the control sorted (or mepo remote) but does anyone have experience of how to get the A/V over?

    Wireless would be nice but I do need 1080p video. My graphics card has a spare vga and a display port so anything hdmi would need to allow passthru for the main TV. A yone do something similar and would like to share their thought?

    Thanks!


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
  4. onelegend
    • Premium Supporter

    onelegend MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 16, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    If within 20 metres could get away with a splitter and a 20 metre hdmi cable.

    Otherwise the money your paying to extend will be better spent on a second system imo

    Considering the benefits of being able to watch different channels/movies
     
  5. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
  6. TheBatfink
    • Premium Supporter

    TheBatfink MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Business System Analyst
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +221 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hmm, so these Zotac boxes look interesting and quite cheap compared to some of the higher end streaming hdmi with remote pc control support I found after some googling..

    This one in the wiki powerful enough to work as a client for 1080i HDTV and 1080p mkv etc with LAV codecs?? Zotac ZBOX and I presume they just need some memory and a SSD and it will run windows 7 ok etc..
     
    Last edited: March 10, 2013
  7. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Some of the AD06 boxes include Memory and a HDD, they have lots of different prebuilt options and configurations, It's all listed on the website. It will be fine with 1080P and will work well with LAC codecs. They are plenty fast enough for Windows 7. I would try and go for 4GB of RAM rather than 2GB, you can either buy a barebones one and add 4GB, or a 2GB version and buy an extra 2GB stick to add. It will *probably* be ok for 1080i Live TV. It definitely wont be as fast as a MicroATX build. The barebones version is probably a better option, as I wouldn't want a 5400rpm drive for my OS drive, I'd get a SATA HDD 64/128GB or a 7200rpm 2.5" HDD.
     
    Last edited: March 10, 2013
  8. porky996t
    • Premium Supporter

    porky996t MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Chartered Surveyor
    Location:
    Bolton, Lancashire, England
    Ratings:
    +82 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    I have two Zotac ID41's as clients. Both have a 32Gb SSD and 2Gb RAM. They output via HDMI in full HD to wall mounted TV's in the kitchen and bedroom - in both rooms the Zotac box is mounted to the rear of the TV so it cannot be seen. I use a MCE RC6 remote with them both and the IR receiver is fixed to the top of the TV, and they are both connected to a gigabit network. I have no problems in watching full HD TV with them. This is the unit >>here<<

    They could be a bit quicker to boot up and load MP, but once up and running they play everything fine. I use LAV filters on both units. The GF also uses them without problem and she IS critical and keen on whining; well, she is always telling me where I'm going wrong :rolleyes:
     
  9. TheBatfink
    • Premium Supporter

    TheBatfink MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Business System Analyst
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +221 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I think I'm going the micro PC route now. Big thanks to everyone for refocusing me :)
     
  10. somy

    somy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 7, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Architect
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +4 / 3
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Show System Specs
    My PC in study room connects to AVR in living room via a 20m HDMI cable and then another 10M HDMI cable from AVR to projector. I made a shortcut to switch between the two display, and use my ios device to control the HTPC (which is even better than IR I think)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!