Best way to output DTS Audio

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by TioSolid, May 5, 2009.

  1. TioSolid

    TioSolid Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 21, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Hi! Im building and HTPC and was wondering about the audio. Im going to connect my computer to my TV using a standard HDMI cable. Since I have a Nvidia card I need to route the spdif output to the card in order to get video + audio in the same cable. The problem is that I will have to build a cable to do that from the back panel plug since my motherboard does not have the "jumper-like" connection for that.



    My question is: does routing the audio that way will give me any benefit instead of just running a cable from my sound card direclty to the TV? Im mainly talking about DTS and AC3 5.1 audio here :)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. riadmelb

    riadmelb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 9, 2006
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Hi there,

    If you route the audio via optical/coax separately to the TV, then there is no difference at all if you compare it with an integrated audio in hdmi cable, because both will pass a 5.1 in a digital format, and the tv will decode it without a difference.
     
  4. TioSolid

    TioSolid Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 21, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Thanks very much for your reply. I asked because there is no way to direclty connect the SPDIF output from the motherboard into the TV. Routing the video signal through HDMI (at last with my tv set) gives you two options: routing the audion inside the HDMI cable OR connecting a RCA pair (with a Left and Right signal). Looks like routing the audio inside the HDMI cable is the best option for me
     
  5. bazzz

    bazzz Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 29, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    If your TV only has stereo speakers, you might just as well connect to the TV with regular stereo jacks and set up your filters to decode DTS/AC3 to stereo.
     
  6. TioSolid

    TioSolid Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 21, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Nice idea! Thanks for your reply
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!