Bug: Recording with SS2 stops after 10mins after wake up with Powerscheduler

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Joce, October 13, 2006.

  1. Joce

    Joce Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 10, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lagny sur Marne
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 0.2 latest SVN
    Windows Version: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
    CPU Type: AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 2600+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.6GHz
    HDD: Maxtor 6L160M0 - 156.3 GB
    Memory: 1024MB RAM
    Motherboard: K8 Combo-Z
    Motherboard Chipset: Ali
    Motherboard Bios: Default System BIOS
    Video Card: ATI RADEON 9250
    Video Card Driver: 6.14.0010.6553
    Sound Card: Realtek AC97 Audio
    Sound Card AC3: no AC3
    Sound Card Driver: 5.10.0000.5650
    1. TV Card: Hauppauge Nova-T
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    1. TV Card Driver: 4.35.23070.0000
    2. TV Card: SkyStar2
    2. TV Card Type: DVB-S
    2. TV Card Driver: Latest from Website
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: MPV
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: MPA
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: Astra28.2/Eurobird (lnb1) - Hotbird (Lnb 2)
    HTPC Case:
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote: Hauppauge
    TV: Philipps
    TV - HTPC Connection:

    When MP resumes from hibernate for a recording using SkyStar 2, recording stops within 3 to 10 mins and MP goes back to sleep again.
    This does not happen for a record on the DVB-T card.
    Recording using SS2 in other conditions works perfectly.
    TestTool Zip file enclosed.

    Happens with all SVNs

    If anybody has an idea on how to solve this...

    Joce


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mdsflyer

    mdsflyer Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2005
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I have long had this problem, weirdly if the computer has been rebooted and then hibernated i will get this error, if however it has been rebooted, hibernated, resumed and then hibernated again it will not give this error. Could you check your system to see if it is the same. I use pvr scheduler rather than power scheduler and so i think the problem does not lie particularly with power scheduler. Are there other event logs i could check to see what is triggering this behaviour?

    Cheers
    m
     
  4. mdsflyer

    mdsflyer Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2005
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    MediaPortal Version: 2.0.0.0 Latest SVN 02/09/06
    Windows Version: mce2005
    CPU Type: xp2400
    HDD: 200GB 80GB
    Memory: 512MB
    Motherboard: Asus
    Motherboard Chipset: VIA
    Motherboard Bios:
    Video Card: FX5200
    Video Card Driver: 81.98
    Sound Card: Genius 5.1
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: Skystar2
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-s
    1. TV Card Driver: Latest
    2. TV Card: Hauppauge PVR150
    2. TV Card Type: analog
    2. TV Card Driver: latest
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: nvidia purevideo
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: nvidia purevideo
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: optus b1
    HTPC Case:
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote: MCE Remote
    TV: Sony 29"
    TV - HTPC Connection: s-video
     
  5. Joce

    Joce Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 10, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lagny sur Marne
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hi mdsflyer;
    Thanks for paying attention to my problem. I will check my system and let you know. You refer to other logs. Do you mean Windows log ? If you are refering to MP logs, I have copied all the ones I had...Let me know if you think of other logs.
    Another thing I noticed is that MP systematically creates an error log showing that the BC2C MPG2 card is not supported....even though every thing works fine. Do u have the same issue ?
    Joce
     
  6. mdsflyer

    mdsflyer Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2005
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I do get the "not supported" message as well. It is strange as it works fine. I'll do some more digging and let you know.

    cheers
    m
     
  7. Joce

    Joce Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 10, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lagny sur Marne
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I tried what you described (hibernated first before testing it) and I see the same issue again...
    Joce
     
  8. mdsflyer

    mdsflyer Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2005
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Actually so do i now!! it woke up and shut down after 5 minutes of recording oin the SS2 and then woke up an hour later to record on the hauppauge which worked fine. I'm sure it is something to do with the SS2 not being supprted even though it is. Here's hoping we get a solution, maybe the next big update will sort it all?
     
  9. Joce

    Joce Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 10, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lagny sur Marne
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    FYI
    By deleting the card in the configuration screen, then removing the capturecard.xml file in the Mediaportal directory and then re-installing the card again, it works...for a few recording then the problem re-appears.
    Joce
     
  10. mdsflyer

    mdsflyer Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2005
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Thanks for that i'll try it just now and let you know how long it "fixes" the problem for me.
     
  11. mdsflyer

    mdsflyer Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2005
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi again Joce, i dont know if this is the problem but right now my capturecarddefinitions.xml does not contain any referance to a skystar 2 i've searched through it with notepad find facility and it's not there. Is this the same for you? Shouldn't it be there? I think we might be getting somewhere with this :)
     

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!