Buying A Pre-built HTPC?

Discussion in 'General' started by thebib62, August 2, 2015.

  1. thebib62

    thebib62 New Member

    Joined:
    August 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Hello everyone, I'm new to MediaPortal, but I'm happy to say, that I FINALLY found what I was looking for in a HTPC with this software. I've been searching for a long time.

    Anyways, I'm ready to buy the hardware necessary for this amazing piece of software.
    My question is, should I buy something like this?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883218053

    I like it because of it's price and how small it is. But I'm wondering if I build my own, if I could get more performance out of the same amount of $ spent?



    Finally, I want to know if that pre-built HTPC would be more than enough for MediaPortal to run on?
    My main concern is performance with viewing videos, and going through the menus on MediaPortal, and I do not want ANY sort of lag, or slow down what's so ever!

    If that pre-built HTPC isn't powerful enough, can someone link to me a build that would be what I'm looking for?

    Thanks to anyone that can help!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hard to tell, are you talking MP1 or MP2?
    What do you want to do with your HTPC? 32 GB SSD is very little storage.
    Those specs are uncomfortably low for my taste.

    @Testers Do we have minimum requirement for MP?
     
  4. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,762
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Enough for a bare-bone client. I am running MP1 with Win 10 on 32 GB and still have 15 GB left ;)
     
  5. lightshock
    • Team MediaPortal

    lightshock Test Group

    Joined:
    June 3, 2008
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    bei Karlsruhe
    Ratings:
    +122 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I've running MP2 as client only on an ASRock Q1900-ITX with 4 GB RAM, 60 GB Samsung 830 SSD and WLAN (ac) with Windows 10.
    Without any problems...
     
  6. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,512
    Likes Received:
    2,564
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,248 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hello MyTV server take 39Go, without timeshift and record folder.
    on this one :
    Windows 7 ( 25.3GB ( 15Gb Winsxs folder ))
    MySQL ( 400Mo soft + 550 mo)
    MP1 TVE only (100mb soft + 255 mo )
    MP2 Server only ( 100mb soft + 1.5 gb data few movie only)
    Windows update ...
    and few tools, so 32 GB is very limited for me !
     
    Last edited: August 18, 2015
  7. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  8. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I haven't started using it properly as my main HTPC yet (just installed everything and been playing around with it), but this PC is a very similar spec to the Zotac box you mention - https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/hp-g260-desktop-mini-pc.131540/

    (For the last 5 years or so, I've been running MP1 on an old Core2Duo E4400 2.2 GHz CPU with 4GB of RAM + nVidia GT430 GPU with no problems, so the little HP box should be an upgrade from that....)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,512
    Likes Received:
    2,564
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,248 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    i use an old hardware too for Client :
    but it work very fast, only MP is installed on it !
    all stream decode are do by GPU !

    CPU: Intel E6400
    Mainboard: Asus P5K
    RAM: 4 x 1 GO DDR2
    HDD: SSD Crucial MX100
    GFX-Card: HIS 4650 isilence4
     
  10. edterbak
    • Team MediaPortal

    edterbak Test Group

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Ratings:
    +1,178 / 5
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Yeah, thats the minimum. But in real life, I find noise and powerconsumption something else to consider. But thats my personal interest.

    This might of interest for you. small review on the thing you mention.
    http://www.htpcbeginner.com/zotac-zbox-bi320-u-review/
    To me, it seems like it is powerfull enough.

    Personally I am currently very interested in this piece of hardware.
    http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-kit-nuc5i5ryk.html
    It has a integrated HD6000 gpu which also does 4K@60fps. You need to buy separate: memory, M.2 ssd and an OS
    I am wondering if the i3 would be powerfull enough as well..
    Only thing holding me back is not knowing how much noise it makes.

    My feeling towards the Zotac box. I do not think you can find these things cheaper if you make it yourself. Certainly not if you want a nice enclosure.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,512
    Likes Received:
    2,564
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,248 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Who want laugh ?
    uploadfromtaptalk1439921882425.JPG uploadfromtaptalk1439921872134.JPG
    Is in alpha state lol.
    I must create An arduino. Wirh temp sensor and pwm fan
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!