Can't connect to SQL host (1 Viewer)

Bayern boy

June 4, 2015
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I'm trying to install MediaPortal on my HP Pavilion 64bit i7, Windows 7 home, 8GB ram and 1 terabyte HD. a Ceton 6 tuner card.
Everything seems to install well until the MySQL. When I run the test it says it can't connect to any SQL host.
I've installed and uninstalled everything twice. No luck.

I ignored the issue and launched MP and the main screen comes up and when I click on the TV tile I get a little side menu but I can access it, so I'm dead in the water.

What can I do? I've been running MS Media Center for two years with the Ceton 6 tuner card and all works well.

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    When I run the test it says it can't connect to any SQL host.
    Do you mean at the end of installation, like this:
    upload_2015-6-6_16-13-57.png

...or do you mean in MediaPortal configuration here:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...tion/MediaPortal_Configuration/22_TV#TV/Radio

If you mean at the end of the installation, did you do a standard or advanced install?
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...ions#Installation_Mode:_One_Click_vs_Advanced

...and if you did an advanced mode installation, what option did you select here:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...2_Advanced_Installation#Database_Server_(SQL)

Bayern boy

June 4, 2015
    Home Country
    It's the first one, When I click on the TEST button it says it can't connect to an SQL host.

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Okay, thanks.
    Did you run the installer with admin privileges (right click, run as admin)?