Can't install TvServer because of wrong config?!

Discussion in 'Installation, configuration support' started by EdRoxid, September 8, 2015.

  1. EdRoxid

    EdRoxid New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hello Guys,

    I made another try installing tvServer for Media Portal.
    But i am Failing during Installation. After starting it, the System wants to set up a database Connection.
    I don't know what to insert here.
    If I skip, the TV Server Installation is skipped in total.

    Thanks in advance for your support

    upload_2015-9-8_20-50-38.png


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Edalex
    • Premium Supporter

    Edalex Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    January 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,900
    Likes Received:
    709
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Saratov
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    So "MediaPortal" (M and P in upper case) is not working?
    Do you have mysql installed already?
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The installer window in the background says MySQL is already installed, so the installer did not need to install it.

    Have you installed MySQL previously for some other purpose (eg. WAMP)? If so, you will need to add an account for MediaPortal to use (or reuse an existing account with appropriate privileges).
    Is MySQL running? (You can check this with Windows task manager. Search for mysqld.exe. Make sure to show/view processes for all users.)
     
  5. EdRoxid

    EdRoxid New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Media Portal is working, only the TV Server is not working.

    @mm1352000 : You are right, MySQL is already installed. I think 5.6 (which is installed together with MP)
    I will check if MySQL is running later.

    If I can provide any other details please let me know. Thanks so far.
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    To be clear: MediaPortal itself does not use MySQL at all. MySQL is used by TV Server (and the MediaPortal TV plugin).
    The MediaPortal installer only installs MySQL if you say you want to use MediaPortal for watching TV (which implies that the installer will be installing TV Server).

    In short, the fact that MySQL was already installed before running the MediaPortal installer says one of two things is true:
    1. MySQL was installed by the MediaPortal installer during a previous installation attempt. If this is the case, you should uninstall MediaPortal, TV Server and MySQL completely, and make sure to delete all leftover folders and files.
    2. MySQL was installed by some other application or for some other purpose. If this is the case, you have to add an account as previously mentioned.
     
  7. EdRoxid

    EdRoxid New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I checked if MySQL is running. I found nothing under processes. Under Services I found MySQL but it says it's terminated.
    Could that be the problem?
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Yes, it is the problem. MySQL needs to be running in order for TV Server to use it.
    To solve this problem, you must decide whether you want to try to get MySQL working... or reinstall after completely uninstalling MediaPortal, TV Server and MySQL.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!