Can't record TV from Mediaportal

Discussion in '1.4.0 Pre-Release' started by killer8, June 12, 2013.

  1. killer8

    killer8 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    113
    Ratings:
    +186 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Since a few days I can't record TV from mediaportal anymore. When recording through manual control in tv server configuration it's working fine but when pressing the record button or scheduling a recording in mediaportal I got an error in my log files and nothing happens:

    Code (Text):
    1. [2013-06-12 23:35:39,175] [Log  ] [MPMain  ] [ERROR] - TvServer: Failed to execute remote TV server operation (IsTimeToRecord.1) De objectverwijzing is niet op een exemplaar van een object ingesteld.
    2. [2013-06-12 23:35:53,255] [Log  ] [MPMain  ] [ERROR] - TvServer: Failed to execute remote TV server operation (IsTimeToRecord.1) De objectverwijzing is niet op een exemplaar van een object ingesteld.
    3.  
    I can watch and timeshift tv just fine. I don't know what this error means and can't find anything about it on the forum or internet.



    Hope anyone can help me out, and get this fixed.

    Thanks in advanced.

    Ps. I've added the complete mediaportal-error.log since the error is just a snippet
     
    Last edited: June 12, 2013
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. killer8

    killer8 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    113
    Ratings:
    +186 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I've fixed the problem, not sure if it's specific for 1.4.

    I found out the schedules tab in tv config was also not working.

    Database repair didn't work.

    But I've installed Mysql Workbench and executed the sql query: TRUNCATE TABLE schedule;

    After this everything was fine again and mediaportal was able to record tv channels again.
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,541
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Ratings:
    +8,221 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello killer8

    I'm glad you were able to resolve the problem... but that doesn't really tell us the underlying cause.
    Could you please provide full logs with the watchdog tool so we can examine the install log etc. and check that everything was updated correctly.

    mm
     
  5. killer8

    killer8 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    113
    Ratings:
    +186 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Ofcourse, here you go.

    I'm not sure what logs you really need, so if anything is missing just tell me and I will upload them.
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,541
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Ratings:
    +8,221 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The problem is on the TV Server side.

    I suspect you had a "record-weekly-every-time-on-this-channel" schedule for a channel that got deleted somehow. Can you confirm?

    @gibman are schedules deleted appropriately when channels are deleted?

    mm
     
    Last edited: June 13, 2013
  7. killer8

    killer8 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    113
    Ratings:
    +186 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Guess that could be the case.

    I have several record wekkly every time on this channel records. One channel got corrupt a while back(because of caches of mdapi). One of the things I tried to fix was removing the channel, not sure if recording did work after that.
     
  8. GaryF

    GaryF Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I have the same problem and my logs looks almost the same, except in english. The record button when I click a program had no text (see attached image). To fix it I did the following:

    1. Truncated the scheduled table as you suggested. This did not fix the problem except bring back the text on the Record button. I don't know if this step was neccessary.
    2. Ran Database repair.
    3. Restarted computer.

    It seems to work now but I haven't tested it completely.

    Edit: I run MP 1.4
     

    Attached Files:

    • record_tv.png
      record_tv.png
      File size:
      791.2 KB
      Uploaded:
      January 30, 2014
      Views:
      149
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!