Ceton infiniTV 6 Unable to create graph

Discussion in 'Watch / Listen Media' started by Greg Jones, July 3, 2015.

  1. Greg Jones

    Greg Jones Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 30, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I'm new to MP1 and running 1.11.0, I use Ceton Cable card.When selecting a channel I get a long delay then "Unable to create graph" pops up. I restart the computer, shut it down and the error continues.

    Thank you in advance!


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome Greg! :)

    Thanks for grabbing the log files - you've done well (y)

    I can see you attempting to tune various channels including WFYI HD, WIPB HD and FNCHD. In all cases, the channel is only mapped to your first tuner:
    Show Spoiler

    [2015-07-03 03:05:42,702] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: find free card for channel WIPB HD
    [2015-07-03 03:05:42,702] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: find card for channel WIPB HD
    [2015-07-03 03:05:43,171] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: got 1 tuning details for WIPB HD
    [2015-07-03 03:05:43,218] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: channel #1 ATSC:tv:Cable WIPB HD Freq:367250 ONID:15236 TSID:0 SID:1 PMT:0x0 FTA:False LCN:48 phys:48 maj:1023 min:0 mod:Mod256Qam
    [2015-07-03 03:05:43,233] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: card:1 type:RadioWebStream cannot tune to channel
    [2015-07-03 03:05:43,233] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: card:2 type:DvbIP cannot tune to channel
    [2015-07-03 03:05:43,233] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: card:9 type:DvbIP cannot tune to channel
    [2015-07-03 03:05:43,390] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: card:3 type:Atsc channel not mapped
    [2015-07-03 03:05:43,390] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: card:4 type:Atsc channel not mapped
    [2015-07-03 03:05:43,390] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: card:5 type:Atsc channel not mapped
    [2015-07-03 03:05:43,390] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: card:6 type:Atsc channel not mapped
    [2015-07-03 03:05:43,421] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: card:7 type:Atsc can tune to channel
    [2015-07-03 03:05:43,421] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: card:7 type:Atsc users: 0
    [2015-07-03 03:05:43,421] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: card:8 type:Atsc channel not mapped
    [2015-07-03 03:05:43,468] [Log ] [17 ] [INFO ] - Controller: found 1 card(s) for channel


    To be clear: that means even though you have 6 tuners, TV Server thinks it can only use one of them.

    When TV Server tries that tuner, it detects that the tuner is in use:
    ...and so cancels tuning immediately.
    I can only guess that you have some other software (WMC???) using that tuner. If you don't think the tuner should be in use, my advice would be to check the tuner's state in the Ceton diagnostic software and/or on the tuner's config page. You may find that you need to close other HTPC software and/or reboot the tuner to free it up for use in TV Server (MediaPortal).

    The other thing to be aware of...
    Your setup process should be:
    1. Configure all tuners (CAM and CAM limit), and SDT/VCT timeout.
    2. Scan with one tuner.
    3. Link all channels to other tuners.
    4. Deal with EPG.
    Again and to be clear, you should only need to scan with one tuner. You appear to have missed the next step, which is to link those channels to the other tuners. You can do that in TV Server configuration -> TV Channels -> Mapping:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...Server_Configuration/03_TV_Channels/2_Mapping
    1. Open TV Server config.
    2. Expand the "TV Channels" section and select the mapping sub-section.
    3. Select the 2nd Ceton tuner up the top.
    4. Select all channels on the left (select first channel, press and hold shift, then press end).
    5. Click ">>".
    6. Repeat 3, 4, and 5 for the other 4 tuners.
    I hope that helps. Don't be afraid to ask if you have any questions. :)

    Regards,
    mm
     
  4. Greg Jones

    Greg Jones Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 30, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Thanks for the welcome. I read through many threads before posting and saw all the requests for the logs. So, I wanted to make sure I did that step.

    Good catch on the mapping, I was troubleshooting the same problem and cleared out all the mappings, I will add those back in and see if it helps

    Is there a way to make sure the turners stop when not in use? It seems to work for a while, then not.

    Thank you very much on the help?
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi again Greg

    This shouldn't be something you need to worry about (it should "just work"). If you find that the tuners are not stopping then please collect and post:
    • explanation of what you expected and what you observed, including dates and times
    • fresh MediaPortal and TV Server log files covering the relevant period
    • screenshots of:
      • the Ceton diagnostic software
      • the various sections of the tuner web page
      • TV Server manual control

    A trick for the unwary, also mentioned in the original CableCARD tuner thread: you should disable the DVB EPG grabber.
    In other words:
    1. Open TV Server config.
    2. Go to the DVB EPG section.
    3. Untick the 2 "enabled" checkboxes.
    When enabled, that EPG grabber will use your tuners to try to acquire EPG. However, the tuner can't supply EPG, so this is pointless wear and tear on your tuner and money down the drain in power use. It could also be the reason why you're not seeing the tuners go idle.

    Regards,
    mm
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!