Change thumbnail for a folder - MyMovies. (1 Viewer)

JonL

Portal Member
October 10, 2007
Lawrenceville, GA
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Hi, I apologize if my searches were not futile and this has been answered before. It would seem there is a simple answer to my question, but I am very new to Media Portal, so that makes me a beginner to HTPCs all over again.

In MCE, I could name a file Folder.jpg and that would be the default thumbnail for the folder I placed it in when viewing it from the next level up. For MP, I have finished setting up my movie database with poster views for all files and noticed it is handled much in the same way, from a viewing standpoint, as in MCE. It appears the whatever the first image file is becomes the default thumbnail for that folder in MP. For example, my folder structure is \\servername\videoshare. The first file in that folder is 10 Items Or Less.avi If I go to my share root, the \\servername\videoshare folder thumbnail is that of 10 Items Or Less.avi. That is not a big deal for me. However, I have some folders that have TV series in it that I did not populate my database with and so have no thumbnail image except the default for the Xface skin. I would like to put a single image in the Media folder so that those folders have a thumbnail - even if the individual files do not. Make sense?

Can anyone give me a hint on this? Thanks! :D

rtv

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 7, 2005
    Osnabruck
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    I am trying hard to follow you :)

So far everything seems correct. There is a little inconveniance being the IMDB lookup automatically creating a folder.jpg if there has not been any before. Nevertheless if you've got a Series folder which you won't ever lookup metadata for you should be able to place a folder.jpg (maybe an image of the series) into that dir (or parent dir) and see that.