Client/Server config best practices (1 Viewer)

JSchuricht

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • January 13, 2009
    Arizona
    Home Country
    United States of America United States of America
    I have been using MP1 with Moving Pictures for many years now. Sadly I just noticed v. 2 is out so it's time to start thinking about upgrading. I am having difficulty sifting through the documentation especially involving the client/server setup and much of it seems to be referencing MP1 anyways. Anyways I am firing up some fresh virtual machines to start testing but am looking for pointers on things to avoid so I am not forced to reinstall a year from now due to a poor decision.

My plan is to setup a MP2 server on a Windows 8.1 virtual machine on a Hyper V/Remote FX server with 4 cores, 2GB dynamic RAM 8GB limit, 100GB partition. MP2 client 1: reuse the existing MP1 client hardware, Core2 Quad IIRC 2.3GHz, 4GB RAM, 100GB ISCSI boot, Win 8.1. MP2 client 2 will likely be a i3-3220, 8GB RAM, 100GB ISCSI boot, Win 8.1.

Storage for all media is provided by a dedicated storage server with SMB 3.02 shares. I am curious to see if each client uses the MP2 server as a media source or the storage server directly. Network is 10Gb at the servers and 1Gb to each client with dedicated links for ISCSI on a separate VLAN.

morpheus_xx

Retired Team Member
  • Team MediaPortal
  • March 24, 2007
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    Storage for all media is provided by a dedicated storage server with SMB 3.02 shares. I am curious to see if each client uses the MP2 server as a media source or the storage server directly.
    You have to add a "media source" to the network path. Then each client will access the files directly on the share.

Only if you add a "server local source" you are able to use local folders on the server without the need to create a UNC share for them. Access then happens over DOKAN/HttpStream, which is slower than UNC shares.