Color & Resolution issues, plus an error

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Lyfesaver74, May 2, 2016.

  1. Lyfesaver74
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lyfesaver74 Public Relations

    Joined:
    September 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    890
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1,093 / 3
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Okay, I am having some issues. i will try and go to as much detail in text as I can but the attached short video shows what I am experiencing and has descriptions of the issues as they arise.

    First off, for those they may or may not know, I am not a normal guy (big shocker) and I dont have a normal setup. I am almost always pushing MP so it is not uncommon for my issues to be the most random SOBs seen, and for that I apologize. I also want to say up front, thank you for each and every one of you in advance for helping. It means the world to me, so thank you.

    Okay, as a heads up for those of you who have not read my post from last month (https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/mp-crashes-on-new-4k-htpc.134090/) I have a Skylake i5-6500 on a Gigabyte Z170-Gaming 7 motherboard. This is important because my HTPC is pushing 4K at 60hz. The motherboard is important because I was doing it CPU's HD 530 GPU and that motherboard has a HDMI 2.0 port on it not just a 1.4a. HDMI 2.0 is what allows for more than 30hz at 4K using HDMI. Displayport 1.2 also allows for 4K at 60hz, but hardly any TVs have Displayport.

    I had issues using the CPU's HD 530 that never got fixed, but what I did do was buy a GTX 960 (GTX 950, 960, 970 and 980 all have HDMI 2.0) and that fixed all of those issues that I previously had. In fact, everything seemed to be great until I played some TV episodes.

    What happens is when I play certain episodes it messes up the color and resolution, and when I play other episodes it fixes the problem and it looks okay again.

    Oddly enough when I use a networked mouse in MP it temporarily fixes the issue for about 5 seconds, but not when I use a mouse connected to that PC.

    Also, I get some errors when I play certain other episodes.

    Below is the media info for each of the TV episodes, the Join or Die that breaks it, the 24 that fixes it and the Two and a Half Men that gives an error before playing. As a side not for that error. It does play the video, but once it ends and I go to the next episode I get the error again, but then MP hangs and I have to force close it.

    Join or Die (screws up color and res) (open)

    Format : Matroska
    Format version : Version 4 / Version 2
    File size : 432 MiB
    Duration : 22mn 56s
    Overall bit rate : 2 631 Kbps
    Encoded date : UTC 2016-04-29 11:36:44
    Writing application : mkvmerge v7.9.0 ('Birds') 32bit
    Writing library : libebml v1.3.1 + libmatroska v1.4.2
    DURATION : 00:22:52.302000000
    NUMBER_OF_FRAMES : 696
    NUMBER_OF_BYTES : 30796
    _STATISTICS_WRITING_APP : mkvmerge v7.9.0 ('Birds') 32bit
    _STATISTICS_WRITING_DATE_UTC : 2016-04-29 11:36:44
    _STATISTICS_TAGS : BPS DURATION NUMBER_OF_FRAMES NUMBER_OF_BYTES

    Video
    ID : 1
    Format : AVC
    Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
    Format profile : Main@L3.1
    Format settings, CABAC : Yes
    Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
    Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
    Duration : 22mn 56s
    Width : 1 280 pixels
    Height : 720 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 16:9
    Frame rate mode : Constant
    Frame rate : 29.970 fps
    Color space : YUV
    Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
    Bit depth : 8 bits
    Scan type : Progressive
    Writing library : Zencoder Video Encoding System
    Default : Yes
    Forced : No

    Audio
    ID : 2
    Format : AAC
    Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
    Format profile : LC
    Codec ID : A_AAC
    Duration : 22mn 56s
    Channel(s) : 2 channels
    Channel positions : Front: L R
    Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
    Compression mode : Lossy
    Default : Yes
    Forced : No

    Text
    ID : 3
    Format : UTF-8
    Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
    Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
    Language : English
    Default : No
    Forced : No


    24 (Fixes bad color and res) (open)

    Format : Matroska
    Format version : Version 4 / Version 2
    File size : 1.45 GiB
    Duration : 44mn 31s
    Overall bit rate : 4 659 Kbps
    Encoded date : UTC 2014-05-05 13:35:18
    Writing application : mkvmerge v6.7.0 ('Back to the Ground') 64bit built on Jan 8 2014 14:31:51
    Writing library : libebml v1.3.0 + libmatroska v1.4.1

    Video
    ID : 1
    Format : AVC
    Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
    Format profile : High@L4.1
    Format settings, CABAC : Yes
    Format settings, ReFrames : 9 frames
    Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
    Duration : 44mn 31s
    Bit rate : 4 118 Kbps
    Width : 1 280 pixels
    Height : 720 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 16:9
    Frame rate mode : Constant
    Frame rate : 23.976 fps
    Color space : YUV
    Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
    Bit depth : 8 bits
    Scan type : Progressive
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.186
    Stream size : 1.28 GiB (88%)
    Writing library : x264 core 142 r2409 d6b4e63
    Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=9 / deblock=1:-1:-1 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=10 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=28 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=2 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=0 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=18 / lookahead_threads=2 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=5 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=2 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / weightb=1 / open_gop=0 / weightp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=23 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=60 / rc=crf / mbtree=1 / crf=18.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=69 / qpstep=4 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
    Language : English
    Default : Yes
    Forced : No
    Matrix coefficients : BT.709

    Audio
    ID : 2
    Format : AC-3
    Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
    Mode extension : CM (complete main)
    Format settings, Endianness : Big
    Codec ID : A_AC3
    Duration : 44mn 31s
    Bit rate mode : Constant
    Bit rate : 448 Kbps
    Channel(s) : 6 channels
    Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
    Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
    Bit depth : 16 bits
    Compression mode : Lossy
    Stream size : 143 MiB (10%)
    Default : Yes
    Forced : No



    Two and a Half Men (Generates Syntax Error at Line 1378!) (open)

    Format : AVI
    Format/Info : Audio Video Interleave
    File size : 175 MiB
    Duration : 20mn 37s
    Overall bit rate mode : Variable
    Overall bit rate : 1 185 Kbps
    Writing application : VirtualDubMod 1.5.10.1 (build 2439/release)
    Writing library : VirtualDubMod build 2439/release

    Video
    ID : 0
    Format : MPEG-4 Visual
    Format profile : Advanced Simple@L5
    Format settings, BVOP : 1
    Format settings, QPel : No
    Format settings, GMC : No warppoints
    Format settings, Matrix : Default (H.263)
    Codec ID : XVID
    Codec ID/Hint : XviD
    Duration : 20mn 37s
    Bit rate : 1 041 Kbps
    Width : 640 pixels
    Height : 352 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 16:9
    Frame rate : 25.000 fps
    Color space : YUV
    Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
    Bit depth : 8 bits
    Scan type : Progressive
    Compression mode : Lossy
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.185
    Stream size : 154 MiB (88%)
    Writing library : XviD 1.0.3 (UTC 2004-12-20)

    Audio
    ID : 1
    Format : MPEG Audio
    Format version : Version 1
    Format profile : Layer 3
    Mode : Joint stereo
    Mode extension : MS Stereo
    Codec ID : 55
    Codec ID/Hint : MP3
    Duration : 20mn 37s
    Bit rate mode : Variable
    Bit rate : 128 Kbps
    Channel(s) : 2 channels
    Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
    Compression mode : Lossy
    Stream size : 19.3 MiB (11%)
    Alignment : Aligned on interleaves
    Interleave, duration : 24 ms (0.60 video frame)
    Interleave, preload duration : 140 ms
    Writing library : LAME3.96r
    Encoding settings : -m j -V 4 -q 3 -lowpass 17.5 --abr 128


    Keep in mind that while watching video, aside from the last text bubble, when text is on the screen, the video is frozen at that frame and not in real time. Soon as text goes away it is in real time again.





    Watchdog logs attached
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Heya :)

    First, thanks for an excellent report. Your description, videos and log files are excellent - couldn't ask for better. (y)

    Executive summary: based on the information you've provided, I think almost everything you've described is primarily related to refresh rates. The only thing I can't explain is why/how the network mouse temporarily fixes the situation.

    Refresh rate change data...

    On startup:
    [2016-05-02 12:18:45,331] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - GraphicContext: MP will render at 59 FPS, use animations = False

    Starting 24:
    [2016-05-02 12:19:20,315] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - RefreshRateChanger.SetRefreshRateBasedOnFPS: current refreshrate is 59hz - changing it to 23hz
    ...
    [2016-05-02 12:19:21,115] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - CycleRefreshRate: result DISP_CHANGE_SUCCESSFUL for refresh rate change 23Hz

    ...and stopping 24:
    [2016-05-02 12:19:29,963] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - RefreshRateChanger.AdaptRefreshRate: 'auto refreshrate changer' not going back to default refreshrate

    Starting Join or Die:
    [2016-05-02 12:19:58,515] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - RefreshRateChanger.SetRefreshRateBasedOnFPS: current refreshrate is 23hz - changing it to 59hz
    ...
    [2016-05-02 12:19:59,096] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - CycleRefreshRate: result DISP_CHANGE_SUCCESSFUL for refresh rate change 59Hz

    ...and stopping Join or Die:
    [2016-05-02 12:20:13,894] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - RefreshRateChanger.AdaptRefreshRate: 'auto refreshrate changer' not going back to default refreshrate

    Starting Two and a Half Men:
    [2016-05-02 12:23:15,762] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - RefreshRateChanger.SetRefreshRateBasedOnFPS: current refreshrate is 23hz - changing it to 50hz
    ...
    [2016-05-02 12:23:15,762] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - CycleRefreshRate: unable to change refresh rate 50Hz for monitor 0


    The above behaviour (< 30 Hz => okay; > 30 Hz => green + distorted) seems consistent with an HDMI link or TV that can't handle 4k at 60 Hz. By Occam's razor, I propose the hypothesis that the HDMI link or TV input is actually HDMI 1.4 (which can handle up to 4k @ 30 Hz for non-3D content) instead of 2.0 as you think.

    I'd agree that your GTX 960 can output 4k at 60 Hz. However that's only half the equation. The TV also has to have an HDMI 2.0 input... and support displaying 4k at the refresh rates that the HTPC is using. So, what is the model number of your LG TV? Methinks it's time to check its specifications... ;)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. Lyfesaver74
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lyfesaver74 Public Relations

    Joined:
    September 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    890
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1,093 / 3
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
  5. Lyfesaver74
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lyfesaver74 Public Relations

    Joined:
    September 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    890
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1,093 / 3
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I have it plugged into the HDMI 1 slot that says 2.0 out next to it.

    I guess it could be the cable but I bought it brand new and made sure I got a high speed one. Cost like $40.
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Okay, just replying to another thread. Will take a look at the specs in a moment. In the meantime, you could try to find videos with different refresh rates - eg. 24 Hz - and see if they play. Alternatively, check what happens if you use the NVidia control panel to manually change the desktop resolution + refresh rate.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I just realised that at the start of your video you had the desktop showing fine... and presumably it was 4k @59 Hz. That contradicts my hypothesis. Still, it's clear that something in the chain doesn't support 25/50 Hz, else why would that refresh rate change have failed?

    The TV specs seem to be somewhat ambiguous about exactly which refresh rates, HDMI version and/or bits-per-pixel inputs are supported. All I can find in the spec sheet from LG is "TruMotion 120Hz".

    Another idea to try...
    Do what you do to trigger the green distorted screen, then go into the TV menus and see if you can find any panel/menu which tells you what resolution and refresh rate the TV thinks it's receiving/using.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. Lyfesaver74
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lyfesaver74 Public Relations

    Joined:
    September 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    890
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1,093 / 3
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Will do this in the morning and report back.
     
  9. Lyfesaver74
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lyfesaver74 Public Relations

    Joined:
    September 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    890
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1,093 / 3
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    No menus to tell me. I disabled Dynamic Refresh Rate in MP and when I do that, even playing the episode of 24 will not fix it
    Logs attached.
     
  10. Lyfesaver74
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lyfesaver74 Public Relations

    Joined:
    September 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    890
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1,093 / 3
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Okay, so. Here is what I have done so far. I turned DRR back on. Went into MP (it looked bad at launch). I went to the 24 episode that fixed the refresh rate so MP looked good again. I then exited MP while looking right (remember it starts back either right or wrong by how it was when you last exited) and turned DRR back off. I then went back into MP (looking right) and played the Join or Die episode that always breaks it. I watched the whole episode without it messing up once.

    Two and a Half Men still gives the error "Syntax Error at Line 1738!".
     
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    :(

    I think these two things confirm I was onto something, even if I'm not completely right. Something about MP changing the refresh rate has the capacity to introduce or remove the problem. It really is a bummer that the TV won't show its input settings.

    Did you try the other suggestions?
    (Changing the desktop resolution and/or refresh rate, and playing other videos with different refresh rates to see if you can figure out whether the behaviour is consistently correlated with the video frame rate.)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!