ComSkipMonitored 1.3.x.3 - LaunchProcess(): The handle is invalid

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Talk' started by ccna55, June 20, 2013.

  1. ccna55

    ccna55 Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 16, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I have been having issues with Comskip Monitored and also Comskip launcher both.
    I currently have them set to start when recording starts and i have also had them set to start after recording, However i keep getting the above error in my logs and comskip doesnt start.
    It seems that once i think i find what the issue is a missed quote or something odd..It will work great for a few days then all the sudden no changes were made it stops working and give me the error of "The handle is invalid"
    I have search all over for a clue as to what is the issue to no avail.
    I was running 1.2.3 and same issue, I upgrade to 1.3.0 and it appeared to work for a few days and then nothing error's out. Again i have tried both ways to start before and after to start without long term success
    Attached are the log files showing the error from debug mode.


    Copy of Config when using Comskip Monitored
    Screen print of comskip launcher.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ccna55

    ccna55 Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 16, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Anyone else seen this or that can help?
     
  4. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    I'm using comskiplauncher without problems. Your problem may relate to launch comskip on recording start, this is not supported by comskip it will prematurely stop processing the file if it reaches the end before the recording finishes. At least this was the case last time I talked to the author ~6months ago, trying to get it work at recording start.


    I suggest stick to one plugin, eg. comskip launcher
    unstinstall/disable the other
    restart tvservice (any changes within the plugin wont take effect until you restart)
    always run on recording end.

    or you can try using my tvthumbnailer plugin which also supports comskip.
     
    Last edited: June 22, 2013
  5. johns11

    johns11 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Hi ccna55

    Did you have any success with your issue? It's not one I have seen and at first glance seems unrelated to the plugin since you get the same issues with both ComskipLauncher and ComskipMonitored.

    Hi KiwiJunglist. ComskipMonitored launches Comskip.exe in a very similar way to ComskipLauncher, but it exists as it adds control over the processes being run, and also the ability to ignore channels which don't have advertisements, both worthwhile pieces of functionality in my view :)
     
  6. ccna55

    ccna55 Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 16, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I have not found an answer yet, It appears at times not always tho when i restart my server it will again work for a few days then it will stop working again.
    I have just updated to the latest Comskip to see if that helps, Will let thread know in a few days.
     
  7. johns11

    johns11 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for the update. I still use a fairly old version of Comskip... I think I might stick with it
     
  8. ccna55

    ccna55 Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 16, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Still having the issues, I cant find nothing on this, At times it will work for a few days or weeks without issue then all the sudden it wont work and nothing seems to fix it, Not a reboot , service restart nothing.
    I have tried many versions of comskip and now i am even using the paid version.
    comskip 0.81.056
    Donator version

    tv.log
    2013-11-28 00:15:05.449218 [scheduler thread(16)]: tvcard:FreeAllSubChannels
    2013-11-28 00:15:05.451171 [scheduler thread(16)]: analog: StopGraph state:confused:topped
    2013-11-28 00:15:05.453125 [scheduler thread(16)]: Controller: epg start
    2013-11-28 00:15:05.560546 [scheduler thread(16)]: TV3BlasterPlugin: Received TV Server Event "ScheduleDeleted"
    2013-11-28 00:15:05.571289 [scheduler thread(16)]: Recording flag decreased - Recordings=0 TimeShiftingActive=False
    2013-11-28 00:15:05.574218 [scheduler thread(16)]: ComSkipLauncher: Recording ended (E:\DVR-Recordings\NHL Hockey\NHL Hockey - Chicago Blackhawks at Calgary Flames - 2013-11-27.ts on 09), launching program (E:\Comskip\comskip.exe "E:\DVR-Recordings\NHL Hockey\NHL Hockey - Chicago Blackhawks at Calgary Flames - 2013-11-27.ts") ...
    2013-11-28 00:15:05.703125 [scheduler thread(16)]: TV3BlasterPlugin: Received TV Server Event "RecordingEnded"

    2013-11-28 00:15:22.596679 [(11)]: BackupSettingsServer: BackupSettings Polling: _NextBackup=12/6/2013 6:00:00 AM recording=0 TimeShiftingActive=False
    2013-11-28 00:16:22.598632 [(11)]: BackupSettingsServer: BackupSettings Polling: _NextBackup=12/6/2013 6:00:00 AM recording=0 TimeShiftingActive=False
    2013-11-28 00:17:06.047851 [PowerEventThread(8)]: OnPowerEvent: PowerStatus: Suspend
    2013-11-28 00:17:06.047851 [PowerEventThread(8)]: OnPowerEventHandler: PowerStatus: Suspend
    2013-11-28 00:17:06.048828 [PowerEventThread(8)]: TvController.OnSuspend()
    2013-11-28 00:17:06.060546 [PowerEventThread(8)]: Scheduler: stopped
    2013-11-28 00:17:06.064453 [PowerEventThread(8)]: Scheduler: thread stopped.
    2013-11-28 00:17:06.066406 [PowerEventThread(8)]: Stopcard
    2013-11-28 00:17:06.066406 [PowerEventThread(8)]: tvcard:FreeAllSubChannels

    error.log
    2013-11-28 00:15:05.692382 [scheduler thread(16)]: ComSkipLauncher - LaunchProcess(): The handle is invalid
     

    Attached Files:

  9. ccna55

    ccna55 Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 16, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    After messing with Comskip launcher and Comskip Monitor for a few weeks i finally noticed that when i run
    Start comskip when recording starts it will work after it crashes the tv service once and upon the auto restart of the TV service it appears to work successfully on the second time.
    I have set it to start after recording and it does not work and still crashes TV service however Comskip will not retry to process when running after recording is finished.
    I have used both Comskip launcher and Comskip Monitor seem to act the same way.
    TV Service set as local admin account , Comskip set to run with admin rights.
    I have reloaded 1.5.0 and removed the plugin's before i reloaded just to make sure i have fresh plugin's.

    Comskip launcher and Comskip Monitor

    First one Crashed TV Service
    [2013-12-07 17:00:19,329] [Log ] [scheduler thread] [INFO ] - ComSkipLauncher: Recording started (E:\DVR-Recordings\That '70s Show\That '70s Show - Squeeze Box - 2013-12-07.ts on 10), launching program (D:\Comskip\comskip.exe "E:\DVR-Recordings\That '70s Show\That '70s Show - Squeeze Box - 2013-12-07.ts") ...

    Second On worked perfectly no changes.
    [2013-12-07 17:01:56,630] [Log ] [scheduler thread] [INFO ] - ComSkipLauncher: Recording started (E:\DVR-Recordings\That '70s Show\That '70s Show - Squeeze Box - 2013-12-07_1.ts on 10), launching program (D:\Comskip\comskip.exe "E:\DVR-Recordings\That '70s Show\That '70s Show - Squeeze Box - 2013-12-07_1.ts") ...

    Any suggestions appreciated.

    MP = 1.5.0
    Comkskip = comskip81_056_donators
    Server = Win7 32bit

    Screen Print of recordings #1 and #2 and logs and Comskip config
    comskip.png recordings.png

    Thanks in advance,
    ccna55
     
  10. johns11

    johns11 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Hi ccna55. Sorry for the late response to your quesion. I've looked at your logs and messages when you first posted them but from my perspective there's nothing obvious... hence no reply. It surprises me that it crashed TV Service since both plugins simply kick off the comskip.exe and don't do too much more. Comskip monitored keeps a check on whether comskip.exe is running but not in any way that could crash TV service as far as I know. If I could reproduce it would be a different story but I haven't noticed anything like this behaviour - let me know if you can think of anything I can do that would help you debug this. I wonder if you could reproduce this by recording a TV program and at the same time running comskip.exe from a batch file in the background. Can you get it to crash? does it also kill TV Service?
    Johns11
     
  11. ccna55

    ccna55 Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 16, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Do you have a sample of this Bat file?
    How do i get it to kick off when a recording starts? if i could do that i would use that always and bypass the plugin, Just not sure how to do this and or how to make it run when a recording start and or stops.

    At this time i have basically given up for now and just disabled Comskip plugin's. Everything else works perfect.
    I have even tried to moved comskip folder around to root of c: and root of d: and also root of e:
    to test, and all still the same.
    Is there a way to debug comskip more and or comskip plugin's more then i am? Maybe someone has a thought on how to debug more.

    Thanks,
    ccna55
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!