Configuration.exe and SetupTv.exe don't scale correctly with high DPI

Discussion in '1.18.0 Pre Release' started by el Filou, September 17, 2017.

  1. el Filou
    • Premium Supporter

    el Filou MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 2, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +97 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    Hello.

    I recently tried MP 1.18 Pre-release and did not notice any issues. Afterwards, I updated Windows from version 1607 to 1703 and then I noticed that Configuration.exe and TvSetup.exe were not drawing the GUI correctly.
    I am using a 1920x1080 display resolution with 150% DPI scaling (= 144 dpi).
    Going to the Properties page for Configuration.exe or SetupTv.exe, Compatibility tab, and checking Override high DPI scaling behaviour and setting it to System or System (enhanced) fixes the problem, but the GUI is still weird (fonts and fields and boxes are all very wide but with a relatively small height.

    Attached are 3 screenshots showing the problem. I didn't attach logs as it only happens witth the setup tools and not MP itself, and the Configuration.log doesn't show any other information than this:

    MP build id 1.15.0-1113-gc51b7ed-MP1-4781V7_madVR_based_master from @Sebastiii based on 1.18 Pre-release, Windows is version 1703 build 10.0.15063.608



    Cheers!
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hi :)

    I've tried on my side : (i can't reproduce it but i'm on very latest madVR installation but DPI should be the same as 1.18 Pre-Release, but i will try with 1.18 Pre to confirm but i have a diff, i'm using insider build (1709) so maybe this is why it's working :p

    upload_2017-9-17_16-12-9.png
    upload_2017-9-17_16-13-12.png
    upload_2017-9-17_16-14-2.png
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  4. el Filou
    • Premium Supporter

    el Filou MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 2, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +97 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    I just tried on my test laptop with a 1920x1080 internal screen running 1703 and the same thing happens (see attached photo), with your madVR build and with official 1.18 Pre-release too.
    Here's a summary:

    MP 1.17 Final on Win1607 or 1703: everything OK, uses old "blurry" scaling (like in your screenshot of 1709).
    MP 1.18 Pre on Win1607: like 1.17
    MP 1.18 Pre on Win1703 default: uses new "Application controlled scaling" behaviour, fonts are crisp and the right size but GUI elements sizing and positioning is all wrong (like in my 1st screenshot).
    MP 1.18 Pre on Win1703 using Compatibility scaling option "System": behaves like on 1607, i.e. OK but blurry
    MP 1.18 Pre on Win1703 using Compatibility scaling option "System (enhanced)": GUI elements sizing and positioning is OK but fonts are slightly blurry and not the right height (my 2nd screenshot)
    MP 1.18 Pre on Win1709: (((Edit))) same as on 1703 !

    I will try updating my test laptop to 1709 to check (it's an insider install too, but normally I only update to "Release preview" builds to test new Windows versions before updating my "production" PCs :cautious:).

    This looks like an issue specific to 1.18 on Windows 1703. Maybe it should be tested by someone else who's on 1703 with 150% scaling on 1080p before 1.18 final is released? Is it possible to change the scaling bahaviour depending on OS version?
     

    Attached Files:

    • DSC_0758.JPG
      DSC_0758.JPG
      File size:
      88.6 KB
      Uploaded:
      September 18, 2017
      Views:
      59
    Last edited: September 19, 2017
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I will try to push the same code added for MP but also for config and SetupTV :p
    Will see on your side if it's better :p
     
  6. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    @el Filou
    Can you try this build ?
    Based on latest madVR one (V329) :p
     
    Last edited: September 20, 2017
  7. el Filou
    • Premium Supporter

    el Filou MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 2, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +97 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    Just tried, but same issue.
    I've started the update of the laptop to 1709, I can still test with the HTPC but not in the evening because TV recordings :whistle:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Ok too bad !
    Maybe need something else, will look tomorrow :)
     
  9. daWooky
    • Premium Supporter

    daWooky MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 3, 2012
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    396
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +925 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    hi guys,i can reproduce it
    i have seen it earlier too also on win10 1703 but forgot to mention it, sorry:p
    @Sebastiii log out and in after you change dpi and i bet u can reproduce it too^^
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: September 18, 2017
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  10. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Yep i have made a log out, maybe i will try a restart :p
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. daWooky
    • Premium Supporter

    daWooky MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 3, 2012
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    396
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +925 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    strange, bet lost :LOL:
    just retried on 1703
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!