Control volume and power on an external receiver

Discussion in 'Tips and Tricks' started by tommer, October 19, 2005.

  1. tommer

    tommer Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 20, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Using "standard" volume control within windows isn't always desireable.

    In my case, I'm having MP launch Zoomplayer to watch DVD's and sound is sent through SP/DIF out from my PC which is connected to an external receiver. Internal PC volume control does not work on e.g. Dolby Digital streams.

    They way I solved this was using External Display plugin, USBUIRT and Girder:


    In external display plugin I chose output to Girder
    The volume+- buttons on the Hauppauge remote was mapped to nothing in Remote setup in MP.
    Inside Girder I created a Vol up and Vol down command, with commands learned from the Receviers remote.

    What happends is that when I hit e.g vol up, nothing happends to PC system volume. However, the IR code is sent to Girder, and by assigning this event to Vol up command then volume is turned up on my receiver.



    I did the same thing on the "Power" button. Instead of having it to turn off Mediaportal, I sent it to Girder, which again either switch on or off both my Plasma TV (Through RS232) and my receiver...

    Only flaw is that volume up/down is quite slow, but I can live with it...
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. James
    • Premium Supporter

    James Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    67
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0
    Hi Tommer,

    I do this with a learning remote with macro functions.

    /James
     
  4. tommer

    tommer Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 20, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    But can you then use all the "goodies" which is included when you use one of the nativly supported remotes like the Hauppauge silver?

    Stuff like direct acces to fullscreen TV, text tv, home screen, prev channel etc?

    Tom
     
  5. James
    • Premium Supporter

    James Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    67
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0
    Hi tommer,

    I have a MCE remote and I can learn all the functions from this remote onto my PHILIPS SBC RU 760. Which is a great remote, quite cheap and it can learn and perform macros. My turns on my HTPC and surround sound amp. with one button.

    Then I only ever change the volume on my amp.

    Cheer,

    /James
     
  6. tommer

    tommer Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 20, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That remote looks great!

    Be I guess you loose the direct acces options which in my homy is important...??

    regards
    Tom
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!