Conversion from Meedio guide? (1 Viewer)

Hesse

Portal Pro
August 8, 2006
Hello all, I'm new to the MP scene and just started playing with it seriously. I've tried it in the past with 0.1 versions and couldn't get it to work, but the latest 0.2 version looks very polished and many things I like.

I currently use Meedio as my production HTPC software and am considering moving to Media Portal because of some of the nice things I see and the active community base. I'd like to be able to recreate a similar setup to the one I have in Meedio now (and hopefully more!).

I know there have been some Meedio users that have switched to MP before me and I've seen snippets of questions/answers, but has anyone written a FAQ or guide for this process? It sure would help smooth out the process.

It seems that I can't do a few things that I did in Meedio that other people have posted about and some not.

1) Databases are essential. Every Meedio conversion thread I read said this and its true. One issue I'm running into is that I had a couple of different video databases, one for movies and one for homemovies. Then two separate modules to view. They each had their own separate views/filters. I don't see a way to do this in MP now.

2) Extreme movie manager importer. I keep all of my movie/homemovie information in a couple of XMM databases and in Meedio there was an importer to take in all of the data and ability to view it in a module. I found the myDVD plugin, but it requires me to export a CSV file and it doesn't import all of the information. When I clicked on a movie, it doesn't play because the filelocation is not imported either. This is also tied to (1).