Database corrupted. Possible to repair? | Page 3

Discussion in 'General Support' started by doveman, October 8, 2009.

  1. RobNorthcott
    • Premium Supporter

    RobNorthcott MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 9, 2007
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Dartmoor, England
    Ratings:
    +92 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I don't think it's a MediaPortal problem, it's just MySQL is very sensitive to corruption. Most of the times I've had the problem it's been after something has gone wrong, like a crash or power loss (of course, it _could_ be MP that crashed, in which case it may be possible for somebody to do something about it if they can reproduce it). MS SQL seems less prone to problems IME, so it could be worth you trying that instead if you're getting lots of MySQL problems - for me though it's not a big enough deal for me to be bothered to change back when it's easy to fix if it happens (once you know how).



    Rob
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. SimonP

    SimonP Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 6, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    It's happened to me twice, and neither time as a result of a major problem (AFAIK) so I'd have thought there was a way of detecting it and the repair built into MP? Fixing it is far from intuitive and the first time I had to do a complete clear-out and re-install MP from scratch.
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi SimonP

    I completely concur with Rob. I've never seen a problem reported with SQL Server but having said that I use MySQL and have never had the problem myself either (...yet :D). There are fundamental differences in the corruption resilience of the two databases (SQL Server = transactional, MySQL MyISAM tables = not transactional) so if you want a more reliable database engine then try SQL Server.

    mm
     
  5. HakanThn

    HakanThn Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 24, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    +1 to this problem, solution works.
     
  6. Caleb

    Caleb Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 14, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Why does MP need a whole external DB app? Why not use one of the many embedded database solutions that are out there? SQLite for example. It supports transactions.
     
  7. RobNorthcott
    • Premium Supporter

    RobNorthcott MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 9, 2007
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Dartmoor, England
    Ratings:
    +92 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    It does use SQLite for some things. Actually, having said that, I think it may be plugins like TVSeries and MovingPictures that use SQLite - the rest of MP itself seems to use the external SQL server. Does seem a bit overkill to me as well, but presumably there was a reason for doing it that way when it was designed.

    Rob
     
  8. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Never had the problem either, despite a few bsods with nvidia drivers :mad:

    Considering MySQL is the default installed and with over 500,000 downloads (total estimated), we get about 40 or 50 corrupt db's per year, does not sound so bad when put like that.
     
  9. jhnjohn

    jhnjohn New Member

    Joined:
    February 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    SQL database get corrupted due to an application failure , or when application get affected by virus or system failure, hardware crashes and due to many other reasons. These all make SQL data inaccessible . But corrupted SQL can be repaired either installation of an application or use MY SQL repair software.
     
  10. vcrapps

    vcrapps Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 11, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +17 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    You can also just run the Batch file Posted below, Password is still "MediaPortal":
     

    Attached Files:

  11. RobNorthcott
    • Premium Supporter

    RobNorthcott MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 9, 2007
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Dartmoor, England
    Ratings:
    +92 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    That will only work if the current path is drive C: and the tvserver is shut down.
    If the tvserver is still running the MySQL files can not be fixed.
    You need a few extra lines to automate it (and the password can be added, making it a single-click thing), see the code I posted earlier :)
     
    Last edited: October 17, 2012
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!