DD Octopus Twin CI decoder only works for one tuner | Page 2

Discussion in 'TV-Cards' started by MortenRS_DK, June 7, 2015.

  1. MortenRS_DK

    MortenRS_DK New Member

    Joined:
    June 7, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,705
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hello again,

    I am not entirely sure if I understand everything that you did and where the problem is actually located. Can you confirm if my understanding is correct?
    1. You can watch free TV on MediaPortal
    2. You can watch free TV with the CI/CAM being connected to the tuner card
    3. You can watch encrypted TV if you bind the CAM to one single tuner only
    4. No TV at all if CI/CAM bound to both tuners
    If the answer to qustions 1-3 is Yes, then most likely the CAM is not fully compatible. In this case please get in touch with DigitalDevices about it as suggested earlier by @mm1352000
     
  4. MortenRS_DK

    MortenRS_DK New Member

    Joined:
    June 7, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    1-3 is correct. When I bind CI/CAM to more the one tuner, can I still watch the free channels, but none of my pay channels.

    I will get in touch with DD.
     
  5. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,705
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    OK, but 4 is not what I thought. So when the CI is bound to both tuners you can still watch FTA but Pay TV is not working.

    Before reaching out to DD you may really want to get your DD-TV up and running. If you stop the TV Service (pls confirm that it is really stopped) and then staart DD-TV, are you still geting a no tuner found message? In that case you have a hardware/driver issue since the Octopus must be found by DD-TV.
     
  6. MortenRS_DK

    MortenRS_DK New Member

    Joined:
    June 7, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I have been in contagt with DD support. They say that Neotion CAMs will not work with more than one tuner.

    I have now tried with another CAM module from SMIT. But the story is almost the same. I can only decode on one tuner and only one channel. The only difference is that if I link more the one tuner to the SMIT CAM module, can I decode pay channels on one tuner, but not two or more.
     

    Attached Files:

    • boxerCam.jpg
      boxerCam.jpg
      File size:
      196.8 KB
      Uploaded:
      June 13, 2015
      Views:
      105
  7. MortenRS_DK

    MortenRS_DK New Member

    Joined:
    June 7, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I got something to Work. With the SMIT CAM module link to tuner 1 and 3, can I decode one pay channel on each tuner. I do not know why it did not work on tuner 1 and 2.
    I have tried to link to more tuners, but it only work for 2 and one tuner can not decode more then one channel. The free channel can DD view all the channels that are on the same MUX.
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    This is a CAM limitation. There's nothing that TV Server or DD can do about it.

    This is a DD MTD limitation. You can't share the CAM with more than one tuner and allow each tuner to decrypt more than one channel. It is one or the other, not both.
     
  9. limpwhizkid
    • Premium Supporter

    limpwhizkid Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 22, 2008
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    64
    Occupation:
    Payed hacker
    Location:
    on your IPC$
    Ratings:
    +76 / 3
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    you probably did a scan on 1 tuner, and forgot to map the tvchannels to the other cards ?
    go in tvserver config to -> tv channels --> tvmapping
    on top you can select each tuner , and if there are available channels move them all to the right side, repeat for every tuner and youre done
     
  10. Damstas

    Damstas Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 18, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    I'm too trying to figure out what hardware I need. I read those limitations, but couldn't understand the difference between these two you explained?
    I need cable tuners (DVB-C) and I also have a PayTV card for HD channels, which doesn't require pairing. Our country uses Conax.
     
    Last edited: June 23, 2015
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    In the first case: CAMs have a "hard" limit on the number of channels that they can decrypt simultaneously due to their hardware and/or software design. For example, MortenRS_DK has a CAM that can decrypt 2 channels. Often the limit is 1, 2, 3 or 4 channels.

    In the second case: DD have a feature called "MTD" (multi-transponder decoding). This feature enables you to share a CAM between tuners and save money (no need to buy one CAM per tuner). When you use MTD, each tuner can only decrypt 1 channel... even if the CAM can decrypt more than 1 channel. Overall, the CAM hard limit still applies. For example, MortenRS_DK's CAM can decrypt 2 channels; he can share the CAM between 2 of his tuners; each tuner can decrypt 1 channel.

    If you still don't understand then I can only suggest that you speak to DD and/or do more reading.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!