[Usability] - Default my videos screen

Discussion in 'Improvement Suggestions' started by onelegend, December 16, 2012.

  1. onelegend
    • Premium Supporter

    onelegend MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 16, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi

    Currently when you enter my videos and the shared folders are shown, if you then select a share folder such as videos1, if you then press the home button and then select my videos again it will show the contents of videos1

    In this case I would expect the shared folders being shown again.



    Is it possible to change the behaviour, or perhaps make it so that you can pass a variable on the my videos button to show the shared folders as default - overriding the default of showing the last viewed folder

    Thanks
    Ian
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. sleepycol

    sleepycol Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 2, 2006
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    24
    Ratings:
    +33 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Make sure the remember last used folder is UNCHECKED.


    Cheers,
    Colin
     

    Attached Files:

    • Capture.PNG
      Capture.PNG
      File size:
      58.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      December 16, 2012
      Views:
      115
  4. onelegend
    • Premium Supporter

    onelegend MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 16, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Has no effect on folder history.

    That is used to remember the position of where you were in the folder, if you scroll down and view an item, that option when ticked remembers how far down you were when you next go back

    (That option is unticked on my setup btw)

    What I mean is say in your screen shot you only have my videos, if you had a second folder called Christmas videos then...

    If you selected videos from basic home it would show the shares screen with my videos and Christmas videos listed (along with the cd drive). If you then select Christmas videos the videos in Christmas videos folder are shown.

    Now press the home button and select videos from basic home, it will go back to the Christmas videos view, I'd expect the shared view to be shown in this scenario showing the cd drive, my videos and Christmas videos folders

    This is a waf issue :) I would know to just press the back button, the waf would be wondering where on earth her videos are lol
     
  5. sleepycol

    sleepycol Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 2, 2006
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    24
    Ratings:
    +33 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    ah ok, apologies. Just assumed it must be that setting ;0) Would be more logical if it remembered the folder rather than the position within a folder. I think position within a folder should be assumed by default
     
  6. onelegend
    • Premium Supporter

    onelegend MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 16, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Yeh no probs, I originally assumed the same as you and thought it was a bug :)
     
  7. Deda
    • Team MediaPortal

    Deda Lead Dev MP1 Videos

    Joined:
    March 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,423
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Ratings:
    +2,385 / 1
    Home Country:
    Croatia Croatia
    Show System Specs
    This will be easy to implement in MyVids (at least I know how and where to do that there, history will be reset when new screen do not belong to any MyVideos screen + video playback screen ) but it will require another +1 setting in configuration because some users would not like that.

    And we're ending here in closed circle between users who want easy and light configuration without to worry on anything, and another sort (where I belong also :)) who wants to have under their hands every tiny little bit of MP customization which will satisfy their need. Concerning me, I don't have any objection to implement this for 1.4.0 but Mp Team have a final word because they are allergic now for any new setting :) which devs want to implement.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!