[News] - Digital Everywhere stops production of fire & floppy-dtv | Page 8

Discussion in 'News and Announcements' started by infinite.loop, September 3, 2009.

  1. Guzzi
    • Premium Supporter

    Guzzi Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,161
    Likes Received:
    704
    Ratings:
    +922 / 0
    Hi Chris,

    do you power your DireDTV with the powersupply or just via firewireport?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    powersupply ofc, since that is what the manual says.
    should not even work if not connected afaik.
     
  4. torbjorns
    • Premium Supporter

    torbjorns MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 27, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    You mean like this card: Mystique CaBiX-C2, DVB-C, HDTV, CI-Connector

    and using an extra slot for the Mystique View CI-Interface (f. 1 CAM) PCI and 3.5" Variante.

    It might be a good card but for a dual solution its not...
     
  5. Guzzi
    • Premium Supporter

    Guzzi Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,161
    Likes Received:
    704
    Ratings:
    +922 / 0
    hmmm, strange - I was never using the (extra) powersupply. I can give it a try.
    But I was trying using the Nonlegacy FW-drivers (as you stated above) - this made the TVS unusable - couldn't tune anymore - not even in FireDTVviewer - going back to legacydriver fixed it....
     
  6. darklord

    darklord Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 22, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    anysee cards!?

    Anysee looks like a card that can replace tha firedtv, anyone tested this card?
    Can you buy this card in sweden?
    Can you use this card with Media portal?
    HTPC realy need a new working solution !

    Darklord


     
  7. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Their HW and drivers are pretty bad. At least one fix for the dropped TS data was to increase process priority :) (basicly just hiding the real issue with an ugly hack).
     
  8. jof
    • Premium Supporter

    jof MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 10, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    It looks like there is no one who has good experiences with a DVB-S2 Card+CI except the Floppy :(
    And I really need a second card with CI Support.
     
  9. Spooky
    • Premium Supporter

    Spooky MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    void 4tl
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Hm? What does this card have to do with KNC ONE cards?
     
  10. hulkhaugen

    hulkhaugen Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 9, 2008
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ROV Pilot
    Location:
    Arendal
    Ratings:
    +58 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    I would rather say that it seems like no one has any experience at all to share about any card but Floppy. I use TerraTec Cinergy S2 PCI HD CI now, and it works, but not perfect, some issues with the drivers...I'll try to make the best out of it, and i don't get satisfied, i think i'll try out Hauppauge HVR4000 or NOVA-S2. A friend of mine has the 4000, but everything else is the same as my setup, so i'll compare our setups and see which one i prefer
     
  11. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    As i said a few times, i also own and use the Nova-HD-S2.
    It is a very good card and works nicely
    BUT it has no CI. You have to pay extra and buy that "WinTV CI" USB thingy which has a few problems.
    • first revision (which is still sold) seems to be very unstable - i have that one here
    • you can only tune ONE channel at the time. multitune is impossible even if your CAM supports it - thats K.O. in my book :(
    • it is very slow - tuning encrypted channels takes ~3times longer than with the floppy :confused:
    • it can "freeze" from time to time. only way to reset is un/replug it from your PC

    It is possible that with optimizing the support for the WinTV CI in Tv-Server it could work a bit better. But the limitation that multitune does not work is allready reason enought to not buy it. :(
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!