[solved] - Direct3D device could not be created - prohibiting mp start

Discussion in 'General Support' started by c 4, December 17, 2017.

  1. c 4

    c 4 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Hi everyone,

    please help me find the reason why "Direct3D device could not be created" error is preventing mp from running every time.
    These threads
    MP 1.5 Direct3D device could not be created. Always (solved)
    [Bug] - Direct3D device could not be created
    indicate it is an old but solved problem.



    It was running fine for months and I have not changed anything on the PC recently (besides the usual automatic windows updates), Startup Delay of up to 55s did not help.
    Latest available catalyst installed (reinstalled it without effect). Latest MP 1.18.0. TV Server works - I can watch tv from a client.

    Logs attached.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. sdlitvin
    • Premium Supporter

    sdlitvin MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I'm having the same problem after a fresh install of MP 1.18. I never had this problem with MP 1.16 or any previous MP. Unlike you, I have a Hauppauge Colossus tuner card, an Nvidia GTX 750Ti with the very latest drivers, and Windows 10.0.16299 Build 16299.

    But the error message is the same.

    I'm wondering if the Fall Creators Update to Windows broke something.

    I know the cards and drivers work because I can watch TV via Hauppauge's own WinTV 8 application.
     
  4. c 4

    c 4 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    While I had this error twice before, something from the patchday could be related, since it has become permanent in the last week. On the other hand there were just security, compatibility and .net upgrades.

    Also tested the GPU with a small directx game, everything worked.
     
  5. sdlitvin
    • Premium Supporter

    sdlitvin MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Here's the relevant section from my MediaPortal log:

    [2017-12-19 14:13:40,039] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - Loading references from: C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\Skin\Ares\references.xml
    [2017-12-19 14:13:40,041] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - Original skin size: 1920x1080
    [2017-12-19 14:13:40,075] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - D3D: Back Buffer Size set to: 128x0
    [2017-12-19 14:13:40,076] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - D3D: Creating DirectX9Ex device
    [2017-12-19 14:13:40,175] [Error ] [MPMain ] [ERROR] - D3D: Could not create device
    [2017-12-19 14:13:44,950] [Log ] [FilterChecker] [INFO ] - FilterChecker: Found TsReader.ax from 8/16/2016 located at D:\More Program Files (x86)\WinTV\WinTV8\HCWTSReader.ax
    [2017-12-19 14:13:44,951] [Log ] [FilterChecker] [INFO ] - FilterChecker: Found TsReader.ax from 10/8/2017 located at D:\More Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\TsReader.ax
    [2017-12-19 14:13:48,213] [Log ] [FilterChecker] [INFO ] - FilterChecker: Found quartz.dll from 9/29/2017 located at C:\Windows\SysWOW64\quartz.dll
    [2017-12-19 14:13:48,215] [Log ] [FilterChecker] [INFO ] - FilterChecker: Version of installed quartz.dll: 10.0.16299.15
    [2017-12-19 14:20:36,370] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - D3D: Showing Taskbar
    [2017-12-19 14:20:36,374] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - GraphicContext: MP will render at 60 FPS, use animations = False
    [2017-12-19 14:20:36,386] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - TexturePacker:Dispose()
    [2017-12-19 14:20:36,389] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - Startup: Load keymap.xml
    [2017-12-19 14:20:36,392] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - Load key mapping from: C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\keymap.xml
    [2017-12-19 14:20:36,402] [Error ] [MPMain ] [ERROR] - D3D: InitializeDeviceObjects - Exception: System.ObjectDisposedException: Cannot access a disposed object.
    Object name: 'MediaPortalApp'.
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateHandle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.CreateHandle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.get_Handle()
    at MediaPortalApp.InitializeDeviceObjects()
    at MediaPortal.D3D.InitializeDevice()
    [2017-12-19 14:20:36,410] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - Main: Running
    [2017-12-19 14:20:36,423] [Log ] [MPMain ] [ERROR] - Exception: System.ObjectDisposedException: Cannot access a disposed object.
    Object name: 'MediaPortalApp'.
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateHandle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.CreateHandle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.get_Handle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.SetVisibleCore(Boolean value)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.SetVisibleCore(Boolean value)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.set_Visible(Boolean value)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.RunMessageLoopInner(Int32 reason, ApplicationContext context)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.RunMessageLoop(Int32 reason, ApplicationContext context)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.Run(Form mainForm)
    at MediaPortalApp.Main(String[] args) Message: Cannot access a disposed object.
    Object name: 'MediaPortalApp'. Site : Void CreateHandle() Source : System.Windows.Forms Stack Trace: at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateHandle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.CreateHandle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.get_Handle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.SetVisibleCore(Boolean value)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.SetVisibleCore(Boolean value)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.set_Visible(Boolean value)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.RunMessageLoopInner(Int32 reason, ApplicationContext context)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.RunMessageLoop(Int32 reason, ApplicationContext context)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.Run(Form mainForm)
    at MediaPortalApp.Main(String[] args)
    [2017-12-19 14:20:36,441] [Error ] [MPMain ] [ERROR] - MediaPortal stopped due to an exception Cannot access a disposed object.
    Object name: 'MediaPortalApp'. System.Windows.Forms at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateHandle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.CreateHandle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.get_Handle()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.SetVisibleCore(Boolean value)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.SetVisibleCore(Boolean value)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.set_Visible(Boolean value)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.RunMessageLoopInner(Int32 reason, ApplicationContext context)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.RunMessageLoop(Int32 reason, ApplicationContext context)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.Run(Form mainForm)
    at MediaPortalApp.Main(String[] args)


    BTW, I tried a different skin but that didn't help.
     
  6. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I'm not an expert on this part of MP, but can you set the log verbosity to 'debug' (in MP Configuration -> General) and attach new logs please?

    Also, in 'c 4's MediaPortal.log it says:

    Code (Text):
    1. [2017-12-17 11:25:09,409] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [INFO ] - Using alternate configuration file: C:\Users\Leo\AppData\Local\Temp\MPTemp\MediaPortalTemp.xml
    2.  
    ...which suggests it's not using the normal 'MediaPortal.xml' in C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal for some reason?
     
  7. sdlitvin
    • Premium Supporter

    sdlitvin MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I just used MP Watchdog to generate the whole set of logs, which I've attached here. Notice that it includes several of my attempts to get MP to work.
     
  8. sdlitvin
    • Premium Supporter

    sdlitvin MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I posted this problem to TenForums.

    Someone there replied that DirectX9 was removed from the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update!

    I'll try to download and install DirectX9 tomorrow and see if that helps.
     
  9. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    The MP logs you attached say this:

    Code (Text):
    1. [2017-12-20 19:39:31,756] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - Main: Checking prerequisites
    2. [2017-12-20 19:39:31,757] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - Main: Verifying DirectX 9
    3. [2017-12-20 19:39:31,759] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - Main: Initializing DirectX
    4.  
    ....which suggests DX9 is installed, and I've got MP1 running on several PCs running the latest Win 10 (1709, build 16299), the only problem I know of is a blank screen problem after resume ( Win10 falls creators update problems watching videos )

    Does MP never start (i.e. if you start it manually), or is it just failing if it's auto-starting on Windows startup?
     
    Last edited: December 21, 2017
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  10. c 4

    c 4 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    No idea what I did to cause this, I only imported the channels from an earlier version.

    My system is win 8.1, so I guess it has nothing to do with the windows version.

    In my case, MP never started for the last 10 days or so.
     
  11. sdlitvin
    • Premium Supporter

    sdlitvin MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    MP 1.18 never starts, even after I've had my PC working for 24 hours.

    When I try to launch MP 1.18, the splash screen gets to say "Initializing DirectX..."
    and then I immediately get the error dialog,

    "Direct3D device could not be created."
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!