DVB-S, Twinhan or FloppyDTV?

Discussion in 'General' started by Juppe, May 8, 2008.

  1. Juppe

    Juppe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 17, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Hallo.

    I'm about to change from analouge to digital TV and I wonder what card I shall choose. I have two suggestions.

    Twinhan



    digital everywhere - FloppyDTV S2

    What I can see so will both work with Mediaportal.
    So my question is, which shall I choose?

    I want to have 3 cards, but only one with HD is necessary. The twinhan cost 60€ and the floppydtv 200€.

    But is the twinhan good or is the floppydtv so much better?

    Anyone that has any suggestion or experience of any of the cards?

    /Juppe
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Juppe

    Juppe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 17, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Isn't there anyone that use these cards and have some experience of them?

    /Juppe
     
  4. Topstar
    • Premium Supporter

    Topstar MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 28, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    system engineer
    Location:
    Arnemuiden
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    FloppyDTV /S2

    I'm running with the floppyDTV/S2 in (twin setup) and I'm pretty content with the cards!
    The support is also allright (missed some channels and they added them in no time!
     
  5. Juppe

    Juppe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 17, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for the reply Topstar, hope someone has something to say about the other card to.
     
  6. Topstar
    • Premium Supporter

    Topstar MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 28, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    system engineer
    Location:
    Arnemuiden
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    By the way, does the Thinhan card supports HD satellite signal? (don't think so..)
     
  7. Juppe

    Juppe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 17, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    No it doesnt, but I only need one that do that, and the twinhan is much cheaper, so my thought was to have one floppyDTV/S2 for the HD-content and 2 twinhan for the rest, because I have 3 clients that not are HD-TV, so they dont nead a hd-card and of course one client that have a HD-TV. Hope that this make sense.

    /Juppe
     
  8. weissollo
    • Premium Supporter

    weissollo MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 2, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Franken
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Don´t buy the twinhan

    Hello,

    i use the Twinhan Mantis 1034 and I don´t recommend this card for some reasons:

    • The driver are very bad; It causes crashes

    • You need a very good shielded sattelite cable; If you don´t have one the tv picture will judder or it will not find every channel

    • The card is very big; You need a big case.

    I don´t know if this is also with the card you want to buy. But I think so because it´s the same manufacturer.


    ;) If you buy the twinhan please give a feedback if the card works. ;)

    -----------
    weissollo
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!