DVB-T Internal (PCI) vs External (USB) (1 Viewer)

A

Anonymous

Hi

Sorry if this is a very stupid question, but I am a bit new to this!

I'm lookig at building my first HTPC wanting to replace my UK Series 1 Tivo. I'm going to be looking at a DVB-T setup and want to run twin tuners (my main driver for changing from Tivo).

I'm trying to understand the pros and cons of internal and external TV cards. Currently I'm thinking that internal TV cards would be best as I'll have everything inside one neat box. But this means a large case and i like the idea of a small form factor machine with two USB tuners.

Could anyone tell me if these would be controlled for channel changes by the PC via USB or do I need IR wands (like my Tivo)?

Any other thoughts on this would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance

Marcel

Users who are viewing this thread

Similar threads

Nice find there Mr Henry. Wish I had that guide when I stumbled through the driver nightmare that is this device. Attached my copy of the driver zip in case the external web version disappears one day. There is also the option in Device Manager to roll back the automatically installed Microsoft driver (2009/2010) to the working...
Nice find there Mr Henry. Wish I had that guide when I stumbled through the driver nightmare that is this device. Attached my copy...
Hello, I have 3x Realtek RTL2832U usb DVB-T tuners in my MP1 TV Server. They appear as REALTEK DTV Filter with unique card IDs and...
Replies
Views
No experience at all with sat stuff, but do TBS provide (or suggest) viewing/test software that will work with their cards? (You'll need to stop MP TV Server running when you do this - use the 'Manual Control' tab in TV server config to stop/start it - as it won't share tuners with other software).
No experience at all with sat stuff, but do TBS provide (or suggest) viewing/test software that will work with their cards...