Extensions installer - why can't the shortcut be added to Quick start or Start Menu?

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Talk' started by emphatic, April 18, 2014.

  1. emphatic
    • Team MediaPortal

    emphatic Design Group

    Joined:
    August 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,589
    Likes Received:
    828
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Surface treatment
    Location:
    Alingsås
    Ratings:
    +1,083 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    The shortcut is weird somehow and I can't click "Add to Quick start" or "Pin to start menu" in Windows7. I've tried both the shortcut on the Desktop as well as the one in the Start Menu Program group for Team MediaPortal.

    Please advice/explain.
    Emph


     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. lisag
    • Premium Supporter

    lisag Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 3, 2012
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    115
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Social Work
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +183 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Ha, yes, this bugs me too. I have a Windows 8 client and I can add to the taskbar on there, but not on my Win 7 machines,
     
    Last edited: April 18, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Comparing the code in the NSIS script, I don't see any difference...

    https://github.com/MediaPortal/MediaPortal-1/blob/master/mediaportal/Setup/setup.nsi#L795
    CreateShortCut "$DESKTOP\MediaPortal.lnk" "$MPdir.Base\MediaPortal.exe" "" "$MPdir.Base\MediaPortal.exe" 0 "" "" "MediaPortal"
    CreateShortCut "$DESKTOP\MediaPortal Configuration.lnk" "$MPdir.Base\Configuration.exe" "" "$MPdir.Base\Configuration.exe" 0 "" "" "MediaPortal Configuration"

    https://github.com/MediaPortal/MediaPortal-1/blob/master/mediaportal/Setup/setup.nsi#L711
    CreateShortCut "$DESKTOP\MediaPortal Extension Installer.lnk" "$MPdir.Base\MpeInstaller.exe" "" "$MPdir.Base\MpeInstaller.exe" 0 "" "" "MediaPortal Extension Installer"
     
  5. emphatic
    • Team MediaPortal

    emphatic Design Group

    Joined:
    August 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,589
    Likes Received:
    828
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Surface treatment
    Location:
    Alingsås
    Ratings:
    +1,083 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Sorry, I don't understand what that means.

    Emph
     
  6. powermarcel10
    • Premium Supporter

    powermarcel10 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    789
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Callcenter Agent
    Location:
    Groningen
    Ratings:
    +1,028 / 4
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    My point was that the code that creates the shortcuts for MediaPortal and MediaPortal Configuration is almost identical to the code that creates the shortcuts for the MPEI. There seems to be no functional difference. So, if you're saying that only the MPEI link is a problem then my guess is that the problem is related to your Windows setup/configuration rather than MediaPortal code.
     
  8. lisag
    • Premium Supporter

    lisag Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 3, 2012
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    115
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Social Work
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +183 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  9. emphatic
    • Team MediaPortal

    emphatic Design Group

    Joined:
    August 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,589
    Likes Received:
    828
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Surface treatment
    Location:
    Alingsås
    Ratings:
    +1,083 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    So, if the shortcut could be renamed "MediaPortal Extensions Manager" instead of "MediaPortal Extensions Installer", than this problem would go away. I just tried renaming it, and it worked.

    Emph
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Requiem
    • Premium Supporter

    Requiem MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 1, 2012
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Weird, I also wondered about this since my first MP HTPC installation and would probably never have come across this solutiuon. Maybe this should be on JIRA for the next release, easy to fix. @mm1352000
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!