Few quick noobie questions

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by Nacimroc, April 9, 2008.

1. Nacimroc

Nacimroc Portal Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    Just got myself a HTPC! Installed MP and have it networked to a switch which streams content from my main PC.

1.) I would like to get a remote. Any suggestions on which one to get ?

2.) I am looking to buy a tv card and connect this to MP. Which card is best ? Hauppauge Nova-T 500?

3.) I use sky, and I'm curious about getting the encrypted channells to work? (over my head, most probably)

As I said, complete noobie to MP and any help would be great! Thanks

Nacimroc

PC specs are:

Base
    Intel® Core™ 2 Duo E4500 processor (2.20GHz, 800MHz, 2MB cache)
    Memory
    2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM [4x512]
    Video Card
    128MB ATI® Radeon™ HD 2400 Pro graphics card
    Sound Cards
    Integrated 7.1 Channel High Definition Audio
    Operating system
    Windows XP SP2 home edition

MP version: V0.2.3.0

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. druffski

druffski Portal Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Hi, Welcome to the forums!!

I can answer 2 of the 3 questions:
    1) I use a Windows Media Center remote. This works quite well, as a lot of the buttons are already mapped. It came with the IR receiver, so once plugged in I had no issues. I picked mine up off ebay for AUD$40.

2) TV tuner card - don't have one yet :( however if you look in the recommended hardware section, there are some good ones listed.

3) Sky tv - do you currently have a Sky settop box to decode the signals? If so, then you should be able to port this through your tv tuner card. You could have the tuner card set to one signal (ie Sky box signal), then use the Sky settop box to change channels. Media Portal would just use the one channel.