gentle.config not found after reinstall

Discussion in 'General' started by tlhackque, January 1, 2017.

  1. tlhackque

    tlhackque Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 3, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I'm glad that I wasn't imagining the problem!

    Added by HTPCSourcer for clarity:
    For future reference:
    To rename the ProgramData folder:
    a) You need to view hidden files
    b) You need to stop the MP server service
    c) You need to close the MP taskbar icon

    Unfortunately, the problems don't end there.

    After installing MP2 & rebooting, I tried to run the configuration program.
    I get a pop-up window:
    gentle.config file not found! (C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Server\SlimTVCore\v3,0\gentle.config
    Click OK, the message repeats.
    Click OK again and I get "Setup database connection
    Connection Settings" panel.

    Since I'm confused, I click the underlined "database system" link. I get
    You do not have permissions to view this page - please try logging in.
    on http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/

    This directory exists, but is empty.

    I copied gentle.config from the old ProgramData ... directory.



    No more file not found errors, but the "Setup database connection" panel appears.

    Where do I go from here?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: January 1, 2017
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,700
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I am a little bit confused (and also a little bit uncertain if there is maybe a

    1. So you renamed the complete folder C.\Program Data\Team MediaPortal
    2. You uninstalled Spring 16
    3. You installed 2.1pre
    There may have been a leftover in the program folders after uninstalling Spring 16. If you don't mind,

    Uninstall 2.1pre, delete the folders
    C.\Program Files (x86)\Team Mediaportal
    C.\Program Data\Team Mediaportal - Keep your original and renamed folder!
    Reboot just for safety and reinstall 2.1pre
     
  4. tlhackque

    tlhackque Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 3, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    1. Yes - I renamed to \ProgramData\Team MedaiPortal-Spring
    2. Yes - Yes, from control panel "Programs and Features"
    3. yes - Yes, from the zip file


    •2.1pr uninstalled same way.
    •Program Files (x86)\ and ProgramData\ Team Mediaportal deleted
    •Rebooted
    •Install -> custom -> next -> success
    • Run configurator
    • Import

    Mostly worked. Lost a lot of settings, including "always on top", client config.

    Switched to xmltv + zap2xml from webepg.

    Took a long time to sort things out.

    So far so good.

    Thanks for all the help.
     
  5. bta489

    bta489 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 17, 2013
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +49 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    May I join this club? I am terribly confused as well :).

    I am experiencing the same behaviour as described in the original post. I tried uninstalling MP2 and removing all MP2-related folders (e.g. the ones starting with "MP2-..." in C:\Program Files (x86)/Team MediaPortal and in C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal) but after reinstalling nothing changed. The folder that should contain the "gentle.config" is still empty.

    I have a working MP1-Installation on the same machine, which I intend to keep intact.
     
  6. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,700
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Did you stop the MP1 TVServer Windows service before installing 2.1pre?
     
  7. MrTechno
    • Team MediaPortal

    MrTechno Development Group

    Joined:
    February 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    275
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +515 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Did you uninstall Dokan 0.5.3? I missed that step the first two times but turns out it's REALLY important.
     
  8. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,700
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I cannot confirm this. @aspik and I had thoroughly tested the new installer, which sets up Dokan 1.0.0 in parallel. There is no need to uninstall 0.5.3 prior to executing the 2.1pre install process.

    That said, it doesn't harm to delete Dokan 0.5.3... ;)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. bta489

    bta489 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 17, 2013
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +49 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Well, it sort of worked.

    The SlimTVCore-Folder isn't empty anymore and gentle.config is found. However, the MediaPortal 2 TV Configuration.exe seems to open the 'old' MP1-TV-Server (version 1.15.100.0), but without any settings (Is MP2.1pre using the same TV-Server?). MP1 lost connection to the TV-Server.
    I managed to get the EPG and Live-TV in MP1 back, by importing the settings I exported a couple of months back, when I did the last changes to the TV server, but MP2 still shows a blank EPG (and 2 errors: 'Error invoking GetChannels' and the same for 'ProgramGroups').

    Additionally, in MP2-Config my DVB-T-Tuner is not visible, in MP1-Config it is. Weirdly, the Channel-Preview works in MP2-Config, although the list says "not mapped to a card". So it seems both are using the same core-program, but with different configurations.
     
  10. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,700
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    @bta489 ,

    Please read what I wrote ;)

    You must not have both Windows services be active at the same time! If you want to install MediaPortal 2, then you must stop the Windows service TVService before installing and/or starting MediaPortal 2.1. If you want to use MediaPortal 1 again you must stop the respective MP2 service.

    The TV configuration recognizes a running TV service but things will go terribly bad when the wrong service is active!
     
  11. bta489

    bta489 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 17, 2013
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +49 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    That makes sense.
    I'm not that familiar with the "MP2-way-of-doing-things", especially the back-end stuff. Since there is only one "TVService" in my services-list, am I correct in assuming that this is the MP1-TV server only, and that the MP2-TV-Server is included in the "MediaPortal 2 Server Service", and that only one of those two should be running at a time?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!