Harmony remotes

Discussion in 'Input/Output Interfaces' started by Atomic7431, November 24, 2012.

  1. Atomic7431

    Atomic7431 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 17, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Which harmony remote for my needs please help :)

    I currently have a hp receiver and mce remote, i would like to have something that can turn on my amp and bring pc out of sleep (when required) and turn my tv on and to the right av channel for my htpc, and to then control mepo as i do now with the hp remote.
    A lot to ask but im sure you great people can advise me in the right direction to go with this please as it will simplify the 3 remotes i have at present for my wife and kids :)


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hard to recommend a specific model.... It kinda depends on the good old "How much" Q.

    IMO, Harmony isn't as good as a MCE remote due to being less responsive.... this is why my Harmony currently rests in a drawer :). Not the input you wanted, but thought you wanted to know.
     
  4. Atomic7431

    Atomic7431 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 17, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    no this is exactly what i wanted, i need to know if its not as good for any reason, and the main reason i was thinking of changing was because of non backlight keys and ease of use for the wife. And if sluggish response she may think shes not pressed a key when in fact she did and re press and do something else she never intended. So i may look at an mce with backlight keys or non intrusive backlights in the room above where we sit so no glare on the plasma.

    thanks for the input, i have been looking at the harmony since posting here and there seems to be very varied reports on both setup and functionality.
     
  5. wonkyd
    • Premium Supporter

    wonkyd Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 29, 2007
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    167
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +184 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    That's exactly where I put mine for the same reason. Its a shame as they are fantastic remotes, just the lag is so annoying!
     
  6. Atomic7431

    Atomic7431 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 17, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
  7. nfox

    nfox Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 22, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    that's odd, I've had three Harmony remotes and have no problem with lag.
     
  8. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Depends on what you are custom to... Compared to a STB it is OK. Compared to a MCE-remote w/MP it is... :)
     
  9. mr viggo
    • Premium Supporter

    mr viggo MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 1, 2008
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    58
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    I went from a MS MCE-remote to a Harmony a few years ago and I can't tell that it has a lag. IIRC you can edit all the timings somewhere in that horrible configuring tool for the remote. But when its done its done. :)
     
  10. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    ^ Yup. Did that as well, but not even close to MCE responsiveness.

    As I do have a free Harmony and a MCE IR-receiver, I might pick this up on my laptop.
     
  11. Atomic7431

    Atomic7431 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 17, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!