1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hauppauge HD-PVR & Colossus Support | Page 2

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Talk' started by WileECoyote, March 26, 2011.

  1. WileECoyote
    • Premium Supporter

    WileECoyote MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    218
    Occupation:
    IT Director
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    Ratings:
    +220 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I dropped a quick letter to the nice folks at Hauppauge, and they included us in their 3rd party support for the Colossus -> Support for Colossus



    Maybe we can drive some of those Sage users back to MediaPortal :)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. sjeffrey

    sjeffrey Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 22, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Wow, good idea.
    I'm glad they decided to post the info on their site.
    The more users for MP the better :)
     
  4. WileECoyote
    • Premium Supporter

    WileECoyote MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    218
    Occupation:
    IT Director
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    Ratings:
    +220 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    How did your rebuild go? Everything working good? Issues?

    I am having issues with my SPDIF connection. Yesterday I thought I would toy around with Dobly Digital to see how it worked, and when I disconnected the RCA cables & connected the SPDIF cable there was no audio. Im not quite sure if its a TV server issue or client issue. The Colossus puts out AAC instead of AC3 audio and the audio track was showing as UNK (UNK) AAC. Im not sure if the client didnt recognize the stream or if the TV server was not correctly picking up the right pin. I will play with it more later this week or this weekend.
     
  5. sjeffrey

    sjeffrey Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 22, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    It wasn't without issues. HD-PVR and Colossus wise it was though which is good.
    I have a few issues with certain plugins. Which is to be expected when getting svn builds.
    I just can't wait to have the patched PVR code in SVN so we get a little more freedom on which build to use.

    I haven't gotten to the point of testing AC3 yet, I'll try it tonight to see if it works.
     
  6. WileECoyote
    • Premium Supporter

    WileECoyote MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    218
    Occupation:
    IT Director
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    Ratings:
    +220 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
  7. sjeffrey

    sjeffrey Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 22, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Excellent!
    BTW, I didn't get a chance to test AC3 last night. Monday we have lots of shows to record. And of course, everything was working fine until one of my wife's shows was recording and there was no audio. When I looked at the graph the Colossus was switched to SPDIF and appeared to do that on it's own. Have you had that happend before?
     
  8. WileECoyote
    • Premium Supporter

    WileECoyote MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    218
    Occupation:
    IT Director
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    Ratings:
    +220 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Ouch :(

    No, I havent had that happen. I have had SPDIF working, but it was with the 27557 SVN, not the current 27643 version I'm using now. I'm not sure what happened, but I hope to have time later this week to tackle it.
     
  9. sjeffrey

    sjeffrey Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 22, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Are you testing with HD-PVR and Colossus at the same time?
    I'm thinking maybe it was because both were recording and somehow the setting for Colossus got switched.
    This was the first time I saw this happen and also the first time I had 2 recordings at the same time.
     
  10. WileECoyote
    • Premium Supporter

    WileECoyote MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    218
    Occupation:
    IT Director
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    Ratings:
    +220 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Yes, currently I have one HD-PVR & one Colossus, and unfortunately I have had many recordings at the same time (usually around prime time.) I just recently plugged my Time Warener Cable into my HVR-1600 to get QAM locals, that helps with most of the recordings, freeing up one STB.

    I created new classes for the Colossus in the project. The Crossbar, Encoder & Capture devices are all specific to the Colossus, so it shouldn't have anything to do with the HD-PVR & Colossus running at the same time (keyword shouldnt ;) ) This is what I want to do more investigating.

    BTW, are you able to capture graphs from the Tv Server? I can only capture graphs from the Client, so I cant see the Crossbar, etc... Which graphing tool are you using? I use Graphedit from Shark007...
     
  11. RunningBlind

    RunningBlind Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    First off I'd like to thank you for your efforts, however compiling from the SVN isn't viable for most people. It's not a big deal for me, but there are going to be just as many redirected from Hauppauge's website looking for a media center solution that don't have a clue where to start. You aren't going to pull many people from Sage by requiring them to build from the SVN.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!