Help starting out with a Git clone

Discussion in 'General Development (no feature request here!)' started by ears, July 4, 2014.

1. ears

ears Portal User

Ratings:
    +59 / 0
    Hi,
    Couldn't find a place for this in development so posting here - hope that's OK.

I'm not experienced with Git Clone. I know a bit of C# and am interested in finding out if there's a way I can help. I won't try to mislead anyone - I'm a long term project - it'll be a while before I'm doing anything of any use...

Anyway I'm having trouble with the old git. I've followed wiki instructions and git clone hered. with a git:// address.

It spends ages downloading, and I get nearly 2gb of stuff but it's all hidden away in a .git folder in Windows - most of it in a .pack folder when git has finished downloading.

Please could someone tell me how I then turn that into something that VS can open?

• Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Lightning303
    • Premium Supporter

Lightning303 MP Donator

Ratings:
    +578 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  4. ears

ears Portal User

Ratings:
    +59 / 0
    Thanks yeah I'm using TortoiseGit.

The problem is that after the download the folder appears empty, apart from a hidden .git folder. It's like it downloads it but doesn't unpack it. How do I unpack it?

5. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

regeszter Retired Team Member

Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    Hi,

can you upload some screenshot from your TortoiseGit (git clone)?

6. Edalex
    • Premium Supporter

Edalex Community Plugin Dev

Ratings:
    +1,229 / 9
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    I assume it was fixed since guy is already trying to merge smth in git according to another thread :)

• Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. ears

ears Portal User

Ratings:
    +59 / 0
    Hi,