Help with filesever please. (1 Viewer)

smarty12345

Portal Pro
November 23, 2011
United Kingdom
Home Country
Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
Hi everyone.

I have been using mediaportal for a couple of years now. Currently single client with locally stored data on 3 external hdds. (about 6TBs worth currently)

I however have no backup solution in place. So I am thinking its time to build a fileserver.

My question is, What sort of Cpu/ram etc I would need for a fileserver?
I do not use any TV capture or streaming. It would purely be for hosting Movies, pics and tv shows.

My main concern is being "green" ie: using as little power consumption as can be while making sure the fileserver is capable of performing its task of suppying 1 to 3 HTPC clients some time in the near future with HD content over a network.

I had planned to use either WHS2011 or Windows Storage Server 2008 as the OS, and something like flexraid to manage the data pool and hopefully redundancy against drive failure.

Any suggestions from those of you in a similar situation would be appreciated in regards to what psu/cpu/ram/mobo combo you believe should do the trick..

Many thanks.

Martyn.

erichzann

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • October 25, 2011
    Oxford
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    The only computer I didn't build myself was this one because it was such a good deal

http://www.amazon.co.uk/ProLiant-N4...qid=1367963334&sr=8-1&keywords=hp+microserver

I would really recommend this machine. With 3 and 4 tb hard drives it should last you a while.

Currently I run windows 8 with drive bender to pool the drives and synchredible to back up from my main server.

The backup server wakes up nightly, runs a backup, emails me the details then goes to sleep. I forget it is there.

In the past I have run freenas and Ubuntu on it also.

smarty12345

Portal Pro
    November 23, 2011
    United Kingdom
    Home Country
    Hi erichzann. Thank you for your reply.