How 2: Automatically Import Inserted DVDs? (1 Viewer)

Bernard

Portal Pro
March 5, 2012
Centurion
Home Country
South Africa South Africa
I'm new to Moving Pictures plugin. I saw the option "Automatically Import Inserted DVDs" on the Import tag of the Config window.

I would like to know for what "type" of DVDs it is and how it "should" work?

I have backed up my DVDs to other DVDs as multiple .avi files. First to save HDD space and second to have "less" discs to shuffle. Now I would like to know if it is possible to "Import" the movies of these types of DVD's? I thought at start that this "automatic" option is only for DVD Movies like my Originals. So I tried to add my DVD-Drive to the Import list, but a noticed popped up showing: "This type of media is handled through the "Automatically Import..." option.

So I read a few post on this site indicating that the other users "expected" that option to kick in when MediaPortal is running. Thus I ran my MediaPortal, and while on the Home Screen inserted one DVD... nothing happend... so I choose "Play Disc" and then Media Portal reported that I should "insert a disc" which is kind of weird, but maybe it is also expecting a DVD Video. So I went to the "Moving Pictures" plugin and while it is open inserted the disc again, but still nothing happend.

So I have no idea how to use this function or if it would be possible to use my backup DVDs.

I would like to be able to add all my backup DVDs and then when I try to play one, Media Portal should indicate the disc to insert. I have named all my backup DVDs in numerical order so they each have a unique disc name for this.

Bernard

Portal Pro
March 5, 2012
Centurion
Home Country
South Africa South Africa
By accident I figured out how one part of this function works. After visually finding duplicates movies on the Database tab, I switched back to the Importer tab. And what do you know! It actually imported and listed the 4 movies on my DVD that I left in the DVD drive.