How can I migrate from WMC? (1 Viewer)

o00o

Portal Member
December 26, 2013
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
So, I really like WMC with the recorded HD TV plugin to replace the standard UI but GF and I can't stand the duplicate recording problem as well as other limitations and some performance issues. MS look to have given up on HTPC without providing any good alt so seems a good idea to consider the alternatives.

MP looks to me to be a great alternative for me. I am a windows c#, ms sqlserver developer by trade, so this all feels closest to what I'm happy with.

I currently have a server type PC directly connected to our living room tv with a raid5 style Windows 8 StorageSpaces for the media drive. I have a TBS quad tuner for freeview. I have dvblink setup which consumers the tuners that allows me to
1. Stream live tv to mobile/dlna devices
2. Manage the channels (remove unwanted, combine same channels from multiple tuners etc) and epg information in a centralised location and send to any wmc client.
There is a WMC client that allows it to consume the epg/tuners from dvblink.

I wonder if anyone has migrated from this kind of setup? I'd really like to
A) Try MediaPortal on the same machine for a few weeks while still having WMC deal with the recordings (for Girlfriend acceptance factor, it has already been a challenging time for our relationship while setting up WMC :) )
B) Once happy migrate the wtv files from WMC somehow so that we can view any previously recorded files in MP (with full metadata etc)
C) Ideally I would like to stay with dvblink as I have already invested time in getting the channels and epgs all setup (and I thought it would be easier to transition then also) but if this doesn't add anything then it may be simpler to abandon it. Any knowledgeable suggestions welcome!

Some features that I'm missing from my current WMC setup that I'm not sure if MP can solve from looking around